Activity Review: Press Conference on Clinical Performance of Day Colonoscopy
On 13 June 2017, The Specialists has organized a Press Conference on Clinical Performance of Day Colonoscopy, focusing on releasing and analyzing the clinical performance statistics of the past 10 years (2006 – 2015). Speakers are Dr. Percy Lam (Medical Director of The Specialists), Professor Chung Kim-Wah (Director of Centre for Social Policy Studies, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University) and Miss Emily Lui (Research Assistant).


((From left: Miss Emily Lui (Research Assistant of Centre for Social Policy Studies, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University); Professor Chung Kim-Wah (Director); Dr. Percy Lam (Medical Director of The Specialists); Dr. Michelle Lam (Specialist in General Surgery); Dr. Sze Yuen Chun (Specialist in Gastroenterology and Hepatology) and Miss Ng Nga Sze (General Manager).

Colorectal Cancer has become the 1st among top ten cancer (incidience). The urge for colonoscopy examination is increasing. In fact, only some well-established medical facilities have released relevant statistics for public information. In a view to increase the transparency of clinical performance of day surgery in Hong Kong, The Specialists has then commissioned Centre for Social Policy Studies, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, to conduct the statistical analysis on colonoscopy results in the period of 2006 and 2015.

In the past ten years, The Specialists had conducted 21,004 colonoscopy examinations. We have detected 689 cancer cases, and have removed over 30,867 adenomas. According to the survey, the youngest cancer patient aged only 23, and the youngest patient found with adenomas was only 16.

Adenomas carry the potential to become adenocarcinoma (cancerous) Most colorectal cancers are developed from adenomas. Among all types of benign polyps, adenomatous and sessile serrated adenomas have higher chances to become cancerous. It takes 5 – 10 years for normal mucosal cells to develop into adenomas, then to colorectal cancers. Therefore, it is suggested that people should undergo colonoscopy examinations without delay, so as to remove adenomas to prevent colorectal cancer.



Adenoma Detection Rate keeps on increasing Our survey showed that the overall adenoma detection rate is 54.8%, after 2014, it reaches over 60%. The adenoma detection rate has been continuously climbing for around 30%. As most colorectal cancers are developed from adenomas, the rise in adenoma detection rate predicted that there is a chance of increase in cancer detection rate.



An emerging trend - Day Procedure Centre A Day Procedure Centre is a place combining several functional units of a hospital. With the help of technology, some minor operations which could only be performed in hospitals in the past can be performed in Day Procedure Centre now. Starting from last year, the government has launched Colorectal Cancer Screening Pilot Programme, in which the faecal occult blood tests for patients are funded by the government. For any positive results detected, patients could be fully subsidized for a colonoscopy examination.

Private Day Procedure Centre provides a fast appointment time at a reasonable price i.e. patients could enjoy private hospital-grade services with a relatively fair price. Recently, The Hong Kong Federation of Insurers (HKFI) has suggested that most insurance companies have expanded their coverage to minor operations in private Day Procedure Centre. This suggestion has reversed the perception, which is “only hospitalization could be covered in insurance”, of the public. Therefore, private day procedure centre became an alternative in between public and private hospitals.



Day Colonoscopy Quality exceeded international standards There are 3 criteria in accessing a day procedure centre’s quality, namely, Patient Experience, Facility and Clinic Performance. From our survey, every quality indicator (e.g. Perforation rate) exceeded the international standards (Refer to the appendix for details). it reflects that Hong Kong day colonoscopy procedure could reach and even exceed international standards. All in all, day surgery is a feasible choice in Hong Kong.



The Specialists Clinical Performance Statistics (2006-2015), calculated by Hong Kong Polytechnic University Centre for Social Policy Studies:


In this survey, the analytic instructions were provided by The Specialists, based on doctors’ medical knowledge and professional judgements. Centre for Social Policy Studies, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University was responsible for data cleansing, integration and calculation. The statistics report was then sent back to The Specialists for further and were analyzed according to the professional judgment from our doctors.


References

[1] Kaminski, M., Thomas-Gibson, S., Bugajski, M., Bretthauer, M., Rees, C., & Dekker, E. et al. (2017). Performance measures for lower gastrointestinal endoscopy: a European Society of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy (ESGE) Quality Improvement Initiative. Endoscopy, 49(04), 378-397. http://dx.doi.org/10.1055/s-0043-103411

[2] Douglas K. Rex

活动回顾:「日间大肠镜的临床质素数据发布会」
香港专科于 2017 年 6 月 13 日在理工大学举行了「日间大肠镜的临床质素数据发布会」,由本中心医务总监林永芳医生、理大社会政策研究中心主任锺剑华博士与其研究助理吕悦华小姐公布及分析本中心过去十年 (2006 - 2015 年) 的日间大肠镜临床质素统计数据。


(左起:理大社会政策研究中心研究助理吕悦华小姐、主任钟剑华博士、香港专科医务总监林永芳医生、外科专科林子倩医生、肠胃肝脏科专科施婉珍医生及香港专科营运总监吴雅诗小姐)

大肠癌已于2014年成为香港的常见十大癌症之首,而近年大肠镜检查的需求日渐增加。 可是市面上只有较具规模的医疗机构曾发布相关数据供公众参考。因此,香港专科于2014年起委托理工大学社会政策研究中心统计2006年至2015年的大肠镜临床表现数据,希望能藉此提高香港日间手术临床数据的透明度。

香港专科于过去十年进行过 21,004个大肠镜检查,当中发现 689个肠癌,切除达30,867粒腺瘤性瘜肉。本中心发现最年轻有腺瘤性瘜肉的病人仅16岁,而最年轻患肠癌的病人仅23岁。

腺瘤瘜肉可变成肠癌 大部份的大肠癌都是由良性腺瘤瘜肉演变而成的。在众多瘜肉种类中,腺瘤瘜肉及齿状瘜肉会恶化进而变成癌症。一般而言,正常的细胞经过多次突变,由正常的粘膜变化成腺瘤瘜肉,再由腺瘤瘜肉转变为肠癌,整个过程需约5-10年。建议及早进行大肠镜检查,切除腺瘤瘜肉以预防大肠癌。



腺瘤瘜肉发现率持续上升 此次统计中,整体腺瘤瘜肉发现率为54.8% ,在 2014 及2015年更攀升至超过60%。于过去10年间,腺瘤瘜肉发现率持续上升,升幅为30%,成为社会上的重要警号。由于腺瘤瘜肉有机会演变为肠癌,估计港人未来患上大肠癌的机会率会有上升的趋势。



日间医疗中心成为医疗新趋势 日间医疗中心就像将整间医院的某几个功能性的部份抽出来。随着科技进步,不少以前只能在医院进行的检查及中、小型手术如今也可以在日间医疗中心内进行;而去年政府更推出「大肠癌筛查先导计划」,资助市民接受大便隐血测试,若市民于测试中呈阳性结果,可获资助进行大肠镜检查。

私营日间医疗中心排期更快、价格相对便宜,病人可以用合理价格得到媲美私家医院的服务。最近保险业联会更指出近年大部分保险公司已将保障范围拓展至私营日间医疗中心的中、小型手术服务,解开了市民大众对「住院才可赔偿」的疑虑。 私营日间医疗中心变相成为公立及私家医院以外的另一个选择。



日间大肠镜质量超越国际水平 日间医疗中心的质量可以透过「病人舒适」、「处所设备」及「临床表现」三方面来评定。以本中心为例,过往十年肠镜数据的各项重要指针均高于国际指引,反映出本港的日间大肠镜质量是能超越国际水平的。藉此次数据发布,本中心希望能让大众了解日间手术模式在香港是切实可行的做法。



香港专科大肠镜临床表现数据 (2006 –2015年)由香港理工大学社会政策研究中心进行计算:


在是次统计中,分析指引主要根据香港专科医生的医学知识及专业判断而成,由香港专科提供。香港理工大学社会政策研究中心负责以统计软件将数据整合及运算结果。研究员将运算结果提交予香港专科作进一步的医学分析及演绎。


参考文献

[1] Kaminski, M., Thomas-Gibson, S., Bugajski, M., Bretthauer, M., Rees, C., & Dekker, E. et al. (2017). Performance measures for lower gastrointestinal endoscopy: a European Society of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy (ESGE) Quality Improvement Initiative. Endoscopy, 49(04), 378-397. http://dx.doi.org/10.1055/s-0043-103411

[2] Douglas K. Rex et al. (2014). Quality Indicators for Colonoscopy. The American Journal of Gastroenterology. doi:10.1038/ajg.2014.385