Learn About Nasopharyngeal Cancer(NPC)

There are around 900 rising cases of NPC in Hong Kong every year. NPC is, currently, becoming one of the local common cancers. The incidence rate of NPC for males is 3 times higher than that for females. In 2015, NPC was the 6th commonest cancer in men and 14th in women. The peak age for NPC incidence is around 50 to 60 which is younger than that of other cancers.

 

Although NPC is one of the common cancers, its impact on human is being reduced as a result of technological advances. From the cancer registry statistics, it reads that the incidence rate and mortality rate of NPC have been showing a decreasing trend in recent years. The higher cure rate is found if NPC is discovered at the early stage. The cure rate of stage I NPC can reach over 90%, implying high treatment efficacy of NPC.

 

Source: Hong Kong Cancer Registry(2015).

 

Structure of Nasopharynx

Nasopharynx locates at the central region of the head. It is the space above the soft palate and at the back of the nose and connects the nose to the mouth. The surrounding tissues involve brainstem, pituitary gland, cranial nerves and Eustachian tube. Since its location is hidden, the endoscopic assessment is required for checking the structure. NPC is the carcinoma originated from nasopharynx. The carcinoma will duplicate and oppress neighboring organs. Cancer cells may even travel to other parts of body through the bloodstream or the lymph system.

 

 

Cause of NPC

NPC comes with malignant transformation of surface cells in the nasopharynx but the exact cause is not readily apparent. Multiple factors confer to the NPC risk are commonly agreed by medical professionals.

 

Heredity: First degree relatives of NPC patients such as biological parents, siblings and children are exposed to a higher risk of suffering from NPC than others.

 

Epstein-Barr Virus(EBV): People with EBV infection may show no symptoms or only show symptoms similar to that of common cold. Several studies have reported that a high level of EBV antibodies are found in blood serum of patients with NPC, but the further investigation is required.

 

Diet: Geographically, NPC is prevalent in Southern China and more common there than in many other countries. It is, therefore, also named as “Guangdong Cancer”. It is believed that the high prevalence is related to the dietary habits of consuming salted fish and other pickled food which contain nitrosamine carcinogens.

 

Other factors: Exposure to the working environment with high level of wood dust, formaldehyde or chemical perfume, frequently burning joss sticks and inhaling the fume, and defeated immune system may probably increase the risk.

 

Symptoms of NPC

Since the location of nasopharynx is hidden, symptoms may not be apparent at the early stage. However, the following symptoms may be present with the enlargement and metastasis of cancer cells. Swelling of neck lymph nodes is the common symptom of NPC.

 

Other symptoms:

Stuffiness and running nose

Nose bleeding

Blood stained sputum

Tinnitus

Hearing loss

Headache

Double vision

Facial paralysis

Hoarseness

Swallowing difficulty

 

NPC Prevention

Having a healthy lifestyle such as limiting processed food or pickled food intake can help prevent NPC. Wearing appropriate protective equipment, including dust facial mask can reduce direct contact with carcinogens. You should seek help from medical professionals if you suspect yourself having early symptoms of NPC. Regular body check is strongly suggested if you are in high risk groups.

 

Diagnosis

Regular body checking and seeking help from doctor can help diagnose and treat NPC at the very early stage. Earlier NPC being detected, higher the cure rate. The following shows the examinations of NPC.

 

Nasal endoscopy: Doctor will insert an endoscope with fiberoptic camera through nostrils into nasopharynx. It can help check any visible abnormality of the structure.

 

Biopsy: If doctor finds the abnormal area in nasopharynx through nasal endoscopy, doctor may remove a little piece of biopsy sample for laboratory investigation on the pathology.

 

Blood test: To detect the level of EBV antibodies in blood serum.

 

Once paitents are diagnosed with NPC, the following investigations will be arranged for determing the cancer stage, locating the accurate tumor site and metastasis.  

 

MRI

CT scan

Ultrasound scan

Chest X-ray

PET scan

 

Staging of NPC

Staging of NPC is used to present the extent of metastasis and predict the cure rate for doctors to tailor a suitable treatment plan for individual patient. The staging used is cited from American Joint Committee on Cancer(AJCC).

 

Stage 0

Tumor is in situs and only in the top layer of cells lining the inside of the nasopharynx.

Stage I

Tumor is localized in nasopharynx.

Stage IIA

Tumor might have grown into oropharynx and nasal cavity. The tumor has not spread to distant parts of the body.

Stage IIB

The tumor has grown into the tissues of the either sides of the upper part of the throat. OR the tumor has spread to lymph nodes on the neck. The tumor has not spread to distant parts of the body.

Stage III

The tumor is found in lymph nodes in the neck.The tumor has not spread to distant parts of the body. OR the tumor has grown into the sinuses or the bones nearby.

Stage IVA

The tumor is found in skull and/or cranial nerves, but the cancer has not spread to distant parts of the body.

Stage IVB

The cancer has spread to distant parts of the body.

 

Survival Rate

Around 80% to over 90% of survival rate for stage I to III NPC. Around 70% for stage IV.

 

Treatment

Due to the hidden area of NPC, the surgical excision of tumor is rarely performed to treat the disease. The appropriate treatment of NPC is, otherwise, always radiotherapy. Patients with stage IV, III and sometimes II NPC may be suggested to undergo radiotherapy and chemotherapy at the same time, in order to enhance the sufficient therapeutic effect. Sometimes, radiotherapy followed by chemotherapy or vice versa may be suggested accordingly.

 

Radiotherapy

Radiotherapy uses high doses of radiation to destroy cancer cells. Patients will not feel painful during the procedure. No anaesthesia or admission to hospital or isolation for radiation is needed. The whole treatment course takes around 6 to 8 weeks and patients will have radiotherapy session nearly every day.

 

Nowadays radiotherapy uses three-dimensional conformal and intensify modulated technology to treat NPC. Before the radiotherapy, since radiation will affect salivary secretion, patients will have oral examination and tooth problems will be fixed beforehand if any. Radiotherapist will make a plastic mould of patients’ head for use of holding head and concentrating radiation beams at the tumor accurately. Patients also need to undergo CT for presenting the tumor and nearby tissues in 3D images. Highly precise intensity and shooting angle of radiation will be calculated for concentrating radiation at the tumor and minimizing impact on nearby tissues and side effects.    

 

Patients undergoing radiotherapy may show side effects of nausea, dry mouth, mouth sore, change in taste, decreased appetite, dry skin and hair loss. In long term, patients may have ear inflammation which can have potentially serious consequences such as hearing loss. Patients can also experience jaw stiffness and hormone imbalance. 

 

 

Chemotherapy

Some medication will be given by intravenous injection, allowing medicine travelling to different body parts and killing cancer cells. Difference in order of performing radiotherapy and chemotherapy can vary in treatment efficacy. Giving radiotherapy and chemotherapy at the same time works better. Doctor will tailor treatment plan according to each patient’s need.

 

 

 

References

http://www21.ha.org.hk/smartpatient/SPW/en-us/Disease-Information/Cancer-In-Focus/Details/?guid=03bd3c50-ca5a-4399-a929-7445b96c4696

http://www3.ha.org.hk/cancereg/

https://www.chp.gov.hk/en/healthtopics/content/25/54.html

(Chinese only) https://www.hkacs.org.hk/ufiles/NasopharyngealCarcinoma.pdf

认识鼻咽癌

香港每年的鼻咽癌新症大约有900宗左右,是香港头十位常见的头颈部癌症之一,其中男性无论是发病率丶死亡率和风险都较女性高约3倍。於2015年,鼻咽癌在男性和女性的发病率分别排行第六位和第十四位。鼻咽癌的发病年龄相对部份其他癌症低,发病高峰年龄为50至60 岁。

 

虽然鼻咽癌为最常见的癌症之一,但是随着医疗技术的革新,鼻咽癌对人类的影响已经逐步减少。参考癌症统计资料,鼻咽癌近年的发病率和死亡率都呈下跌趋势,加上越早发现患上鼻咽癌,治愈的机会越高,第一期的治愈率可高达九成,可见鼻咽癌的疗效越见提升。

资料来源:香港防癌会

 

鼻咽癌的成因

鼻咽癌的成因是因为鼻咽内的表层细胞产生恶性变异,但明确成因至今仍然未明,医学界普遍认为以下是鼻咽癌的高危因素:

 

家族遗传:鼻咽癌患者的直系亲属如父母丶兄弟姊妹和子女罹患鼻咽癌的机会会较一般人高。

 

EB病毒:EB病毒(Epstein-Barr Virus)的感染一般没有徵状,或只产生可类似伤风的轻微徵状。有研究发现大部分的鼻咽癌患者体内的EB病毒抗体是十分之高,但具体诱发癌症的原因仍有待研究。

 

饮食习惯:中国华南一带的鼻咽癌发病率是全球之冠,因此鼻咽癌也称「广东癌」,估计与当地居民嗜吃咸鱼和腌菜等含致癌物质亚硝胺的腌制食物有关。

 

其他因素:因工作关系接触到木屑丶甲醛和化学烟雾;经常燃烧香烛;免疫功能不全。

 

鼻咽癌症状

由於鼻咽癌的位置十隐蔽,初期的症状未必明显,但随着肿瘤的增大和扩散,可能会出现以下症状,其中以颈侧淋巴结胀大最为常见:

鼻塞丶流鼻涕

流鼻血

咳嗽带血

耳鸣

听力减退

头痛

看见重叠影像

面部麻痹

声音沙哑

吞咽困难

 

预防鼻咽癌

要预防鼻咽癌应保持良好的生活习惯,例如减少进食加工和腌制类食物。工作时适当使用安全设备,例如戴工业用口罩,减少接触致癌物质的机会。如出现怀疑是鼻咽癌的初期症状,应立即求医检查和治疗。如属於高危人士,应安排定期身体检查。
 

诊断

定期检查和求诊有助及早诊断和治疗鼻咽癌,越早发现癌症,其治愈机会越高。鼻咽癌的检查包括以下各项:

 

鼻内镜检查:医生把附有光学纤维镜头的软管通过鼻孔进入鼻咽,检查鼻咽是否有异样

 

活组织化验:如检查发现鼻咽有异样,医生会利用仪器抽取一些组织作病理化验,以确定病因

 

抽取血液样本:验测血液中EBV抗体的水平

 

如确实患上鼻咽癌,医生会为患者进一步检查,为癌症作分期评估,确定肿瘤位置和扩散去其他器官的程度:

 

磁力共振造影

电脑扫描

超音波扫描

胸肺X光

正电子扫描

 

鼻咽癌分期

癌症分期的作用是鉴别肿瘤的扩散程度及范围,籍此预测治愈的机会,让医生可利用分期设计治疗方案。而以下的分期是根据美国癌症联合委员会(AJCC)的分期而定。

 

0期

癌細胞於鼻咽表層細胞組織形成。

I期

癌細胞局限在鼻咽部位。

IIA期

癌細胞蔓延到咽喉或鼻腔。

IIB期

癌細胞擴散到喉嚨兩側的組織或者擴散到頸部的淋巴組織。癌細胞未侵略遠端器官。

III期

癌細胞已蔓延到頸部的淋巴組織但未侵略遠端器官。或者腫瘤已侵略鼻竇或附近頭骨。

IVA期

腫瘤已蔓延到頭骨或腦神經線。癌細胞未侵略遠端器官。

IVB期

癌細胞擴散到遠端器官。

 

 

存活率

第一至三期的五年存活率可高达八至九成半丶第四期亦大约有七成。

 

治疗

由於鼻咽癌的位置隐蔽,故很少用手术切除的方法清除肿瘤。鼻咽癌的治疗主要靠放射治疗,但医生可能会建议第四期丶第三期或部分第二期病人同时进行放射治疗和化学治疗,提高治疗的成效,放射治疗和化学治疗除了同时进行,亦可一前一後进行。

 

放射治疗

放射治疗是使用仪器发射高能量辐射线照射并杀死癌细胞,过程中患者不会感受到疼痛,无须进行麻醉或住院,身体也不会有辐射需要隔离。整个疗程会几乎每天进行,为期约六至八个星期。

 

现时是以三维顺形和强度调控放射疗法技术治疗鼻咽癌。放射治疗开始前,由於放射治疗会影响口水分泌,患者须进行口腔检查,治疗牙患。放射技师会根据患者的脸部和头部形状制造塑胶模,作固定头部以便射线准确照射目标。之後患者需要进行电脑扫描,将肿瘤和邻近重要器官以三度空间影像呈现,计算出最理想的射线角度和强度,将射线集中再肿瘤位置,减低邻近组织的剂量,将副作用减到最低。

 

放射治疗可能会出现恶心丶口乾丶口腔溃疡丶味觉改变丶食欲不振丶皮肤乾燥丶头发脱落等副作用,亦可能会有长期的影响,包括患者耳朵较易发炎,导致听力衰退;患者牙关的肌肉和关节会硬化;内分泌失调。

 

 

化学治疗

医生透过静脉注射药物进入体内,让药物通过血液运送全身,杀灭癌细胞。但是化学治疗与放射治疗的次序不同都会有不同效益,其中以放射治疗和化学治疗同时进行疗效最大,但医生会根据实际情况,设计最好的放射治疗和化学治疗搭配次序。

 

 

 

参考网站

http://www21.ha.org.hk/smartpatient/SPW/zh-HK/Disease-Information/Cancer-In-Focus/Details/?guid=03bd3c50-ca5a-4399-a929-7445b96c4696

http://www3.ha.org.hk/cancereg/tc/

https://www.chp.gov.hk/tc/healthtopics/content/25/54.html

https://www.hkacs.org.hk/ufiles/NasopharyngealCarcinoma.pdf