Day- Case Colonoscopy

 

1.    Why do you need to get a colonoscopy?

 

Colorectal cancer as the most common cancer in Hong Kong

 

The Department of Health (DH) announced in August 2018 that colorectal cancer ranked the most common cancer locally. In 2016, colorectal cancer resulted in 2 089 deaths, accounting for 14.7 per cent of all cancer deaths.

There has been substantial proof around the world that colorectal cancer screening can lower the incidence rate of the disease. In the US, asymptomatic individuals regularly undergo screening for colorectal cancer from the age of 50.

 

Colorectal cancer prevention with colonoscopy

 

The colorectal adenoma-carcinoma sequence suggests that a clump of cells form the adenomas polyps that attach to surface of the colon’s mucous membrane, and the adenomas polyps become cancerous. It is believed that environmental factors such as food can alter the way molecules bind to DNA. It takes about 10 years for an adenoma  polyp to turn into cancer. Over 70 percent of colorectal cancers begin as a benign polyp. Removing the adenomas polyps can help prevent colorectal cancer from developing.
The common types of polyps include hyperplastic polyps, adenomas polyps, sessile serrated adenoma, Peutz-Jehger polyps, and juvenile polyps. If the polyps are not removed, they could turn into colorectal cancer. 

 

 

 

A young-shift in colon cancer in Hong Kong

 

In the latest research (2018) by The Chinese University of Hong Kong revealed, there is a global trend towards a “young-shift” in colorectal cancer. Obesity is a growing global issue, especially among the younger population in developed countries. It is linked to the change in gut microbiota. We believe that could be one of the factors in why more and more younger individuals are suffering from colorectal cancer. The youngest age of colorectal cancer diagnosed in our Centre was 23 years old.

 

Colonoscopy

 

Patients may sleep through a colonoscopy with sedation and will not feel pain. Colonoscopy is the endoscopic examination of the inner lining of the large bowel (colon) with a flexible endoscope, by passing through the anus to the lower bowel to examine if there is any inflammation, polyp or tumour. Colonoscopy can remove polyps or biopsies when any suspicious found. After its removal, the biopsy specimen will be sent to the laboratory for testing.

Colonoscopy offers the best prevention for colorectal cancer. However, the polyps can grow back after they have been removed once. Regular screening test, such as a colonoscopy, can find colon polyps and have them removed safely.

 

2.    Medical Statistics Analysis Issued by The Specialists

 

On 13 June 2017, The Specialists has organized a Press Conference on Clinical Performance of Day Colonoscopy with The Hong Kong Polytechnic University to release and analyse the clinical performance statistics of the past 10 years (2006–2015) by collecting a total of 21 004 colonoscopy reports. Among which, there are 689 cancer cases and 30 867 polyps removed in total.

Some highlights in findings are listed in the table below.

 

 

3.    Who should have colonoscopy?

 

The colonoscopy is indicated for people who,

 

  • start after the age of 50
  • have a family history of colon cancer
  • have per rectal bleeding
  • experience bloating
  • experience unexplained abdominal pain
  • have suspected colonic polyps
  • have inflammatory bowel disease

 

4.    How to prepare for the procedure?

 

Prior to the procedure, patients should:

 

  • A pre-consultation is required during which the doctor is able to determine whether the patient's physical condition is suitable for endoscopy or anaesthesia procedures. And doctor will let the patient know the risks associated with the examination.
  • Stop taking iron supplement for 3 days before the procedure. Patients who are taking wafarin and aspirin should inform the doctor in advance. In some cases, doctor may ask the patient to stop taking the medication prior to the examination.
  • Stop ingesting high fibre diet/drink including vegetables, fruit, wheat, mushrooms and cereals three (3) days before the procedure. Patients can eat starchy, protein and fatty foods.
  • Only take clear liquid the day before the procedure. Patients can have fish congee and minced meat congee.
  • Patients should take the laxative prescribed by the doctor on the day before the test/or in the morning of the test. (Patients are not recommended to buy the laxative by themselves). Before drinking laxatives, patients can prepare 2 litres of electrolyte water, cleansing wipes for skin and petrolatum.
  • Do not eat   anything for 6 hours before the procedure.
  • Do not eat and drink anything for 2 hours before the procedure.
  • Doctor will have a brief consultation with the patient to explain the procedure and the risks involved. A consent form will then be signed by the patient.
  • Remove the denture, accessories and metallic objects.
  • If the patient suspects that she is pregnant, she should be sure to let the doctor know.

 

5.    What happens during the colonoscopy?

 

 

  1. The examination will be performed only when the patient is asleep after intravenous sedation or monitored anaesthesia care administered by anaesthesiologist, to avoid any discomfort. The anaesthesiologists participate in providing anaesthetic opinions to patients prior to the endoscopy. During the procedure, they will constantly monitor the stability of vital signs including pulse, breathe, blood pressure, to preserve the vitality of important organ functions. Monitored anaesthesia care is a special alternative for patients that require maximum comfort and safety.
  2. Doctor will apply some lubricant to the anal region. A flexible colonoscope with a diameter of around 1.5cm will then be introduced by the endoscopist through the anus to examine the colon.
  3. The colonoscopy allows the doctor to take a biopsy or remove polyps during the procedure.
  4. During the endoscopy process, a small amount of air insufflation is applied to visualize the colon images. It is normal to have cramps and a feeling of wanting to go to the toilet. An alternative gas that can be pumped into the colon during colonoscopy is carbon dioxide (CO2). Unlike air, CO2 is very rapidly reabsorbed into the body from the colon, about 150 times faster than air.
  5. The procedure will be completed in 30 minutes.

 

 

6.    After the procedure

 

  • After the patient completes the procedure, he/she will be sent to the recovery area. We have a dedicated nurse take good care of the patient and carefully monitor the patient's vital signs. After the patient wakes up, he/she will be transferred to the private resting room.
  • In the private resting room, in addition to the vital signs monitor connected with the central system, we have an alarm clock, lifesaving alarm, walkie-talkie and other medical equipment. There are also entertainment facilities such as sofas, TV set and magazines. The room is prepared after the procedure to give patient time to wear off the sedation. Family members can accompany during the time.
  • As patient is sedated, he/she should be accompanied by at least a friend or a family member aged above 18.
  • The sedation and the anaesthetics may temporarily affect one's co-ordination and reasoning skills, therefore, avoid driving, drinking alcohol, making any important decisions or signing legal documents in 24 hours after the procedure.
  • Patients can resume normal diet after colonoscopy. However, if the patient has undergone a polypectomy, he/she will be asked to fasten certain types of vegetables and fruits within 10 days of the examination.
  • If the patient has undergone polypectomy or extraction of biopsies during the procedure, he/she will be strongly advised to stay in Hong Kong for 10 days after surgery. If the patient cannot promise to stay in Hong Kong for 10 days after surgery, please inform the doctor before the test.

 

 

7.    Devices to improve the colonoscopy output

 

Endoscopy Rooms

 

Both the endoscopy rooms and cleansing room are maintained at negative pressure. The cleansing room was constructed with the advice of our contractor Olympus, with the new models of endoscope reprocessors being used.

To provide an optimal medical service, we have introduced Olympus HQ 290 endoscopic series which is already in operation. The whole system provides a more ingenious result and advanced medical efficacy compared with the previous ones. The dual focus, auto pressure water jet and the 170° wide-angle technique not just offer high definition images, but also enable doctors to easily pick up the hidden polyps. All these functions complete each other and give the best performance at the endoscopic level.

The most advanced model of our Gastroscopy functions with the AFI technique which can offer twice the viewable distance than the previous one, projecting a more clear-cut observation for any lesion with abnormal blood vessels and mucosa.

During the endoscopy process, doctor will insufflate a small amount of air to visualize the gastrointestinal images but the remaining air may lead to slight abdominal distension. While CO2 is about 150 times faster than conventional air, carbon dioxide's rapid absorption properties keep abdominal distension and related pain to a minimum during the procedure and speed up the recovery afterwards.

 

 

Available instruments and techniques

 

To prevent cross infection, our endoscopic apparatus such as the hot biopsy forceps and the polypectomy snares are all disposable. Furthermore, we provide the Narrow Band Imaging (NBI) technology that can offer twice the viewable distance than the previous type, projecting a more clear-cut observation for any lesion with abnormal blood vessels and mucosa.

During colonoscopy, carbon dioxide (CO2) is to insufflate the colon as CO2 absorbs considerably faster than air. We introduce the Olympus UCR CO2 Regulation Unit that provides intra-luminal insufflation using carbon dioxide to minimize bowel distension, reduce patient discomfort, and speed up the recovery afterwards

Advanced apparatus and technologies including endoscopic submucosal dissection (ESD) and auto pressure water jet are also introduced in the centre.

 

Strict Water Treatment

 

To ensure that clean water is used for final rinsing of endoscopies and equipment, our centre is holding a strict procedure in water treatment. We employ a 3-layer filter system: Starting from the tap water, it will firstly pass through a cylindrical filter which filters most contaminants including bacteria, impurities and microorganisms whose sizes are bigger than 1 micron. The second cylindrical filter acts as a gate for suspended particles and other contaminants bigger than 0.5 micron. The filtrate is basically suitable for endoscopies. The last filter, which is as the faucet, is for super small microorganisms bigger than 0.2 micron.

To further ensure the water quality, the 1-micron and 0.5-micron filters will be replaced monthly. In addition, for every two days, the faucet filter will be replaced.

It is a common practice that filtered water is used to flush interior regions of intestines and stomach to prevent cross contamination. Our water filtration system applies the method of Reverse Osmosis (RO), which is very effective in lowering TDS (Total Dissolved Solids) in tap water, is believed to be the cleanest water filtration method. Water after reverse osmosis (“RO Water”) only possesses water molecules with no minerals or metal particles.

For gastric irrigation, we use sterile medical water from a well-known medical brand.

 

8.    Medical suppor

 

 

If perforation or bleeding happens after the procedure, patients may receive follow up service gratis when necessary to ensure you get the most attentive post-operative care.

The certified resuscitation area is equipped with all sorts of airway and intubation instruments including the endoscopic guided intubation facility, ventilator, oxygen generating machine, lifesaving medications and the cardioverter. Moreover, all our medical staff receives regular training on resuscitation to ensure patients can get the medical assistance in case of any emergency timely and properly.

If perforation or bleeding happens after the procedure, patients may receive follow up service gratis when necessary to ensure our patients get the most attentive post-operative care.

 

Conclusions

 

Existing medical data prove that colonoscopy can effectively reduce the incidence and mortality of colorectal cancer. Citizens are recommended to have colorectal screening routinely to spot the colorectal cancer at the early stage and receive the appropriate treatment.

 

FQA

 

  1. How long will the procedure take place?
    Colonoscopy usually takes about 30 minutes
  2. Will the endoscopy procedure cause any suffering?
    Traditional colonoscopy is taken place when patients are awake. Nowadays, patients can choose to receive intravenous sedation agents injection. Patients will fall asleep after the injection. Endoscopy procedure will take place when the patients are sleeping and no discomfort will be felt.
  3. When can I get the endoscopy result?
    The doctors can inform you on the condition of large intestine and stomach on the same day. If biopsy is needed, patients will receive their reports after 3-4 days.

 

 

 

 

The above information is for reference only. In case of any query. Please contact us.

日间大肠内窥镜检查

 

1.    为何要接受大肠内窥镜检查?

 

大肠癌为本港头号癌症

 

2018年8月,卫生署卫生防护中心公布一项患病统计,大肠癌是本港最常见的癌症,在2016年,大肠癌导致2089人死亡,占癌症死亡总数的14.7 %。

国际间已有充份数据证明大肠癌筛查能有效减低此病的发病率。以美国为例,没有病征者50岁开始便定期接受大肠癌筛查,结果当地50岁以上的大肠癌个案近年录得跌幅。

 

大肠内窥镜检查可以预防肠癌

 

腺瘤-癌次序论指出:

正常的细胞经过多次突变,由正常的粘膜变化成腺瘤瘜肉,再由腺瘤瘜肉转变成肠癌。食物及环境因素都有机会导致基因突变,癌变的过程长达十年或以上。七成以上肠癌是由肠壁内的良性腺瘤瘜肉慢慢演变而成,清除良性腺瘤瘜肉可防止真正癌症发生。

大肠直肠瘜肉一般可分为腺瘤性瘜肉、增生性瘜肉、齿状瘜肉、错钩瘤性瘜肉、幼年型瘜肉,其中一些瘜肉如果不及时切除,会发生癌变。

 

 

大肠癌有年轻化的趋势

 

2018年,香港中文大学一项最新研究揭示,全球大肠癌患者有年轻化趋势。肥胖问题在发达国家、尤其是年轻人口愈来愈严重。由于肥胖可引致肠道微生物群转变,这可能是愈来愈多年轻人罹患大肠癌的因素之一。本中心最年轻的大肠癌病人年仅23岁。

 

大肠镜检查

 

大肠镜检查是再无痛及无知觉状态下进行,医生利用可屈曲的内窥镜,由肛门进入大肠,观察有否发炎,瘜肉或肿瘤等疾病。检查过程中如发现瘜肉,会即时利用内镜仪器切除,而且即时抽取组织样本作化验。

 

2.    本中心的大肠癌医学数据分析

 

本中心于2017年6月13日举行了「日间大肠镜的临床质素数据发布会」。发布会上公布及分析了香港专科过去十年中(2006 - 2015年),大肠镜的临床表现及曾进行大肠镜检查之病人的下消化道健康状况(主要为腺瘤瘜肉及癌症发现率),共计21,004份肠镜报告。在21,004次肠镜检查中,找出689个癌症及切除达30,867粒腺瘤瘜肉。

以下图表中记录是次研究的数据、美国胃肠内镜学会(American Society of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy)及欧洲胃肠内镜学会(European Society of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy)公布的数据。

 

 

3.    谁需要接受大肠内窥镜检查?

 

  • 年满50岁人士
  • 有肠癌家族史
  • 便血
  • 腹胀
  • 大便习惯改变
  • 不明原因腹痛
  • 怀疑患上大肠瘜肉
  • 炎症性肠病

 

4.    大肠内窥镜检查前应如何准备?

 

在检查前,病人需要注意:

 

  • 需预约医生进行面诊,让医生判断病人身体状况是否适合进行内窥镜检查或接受麻醉程序。同时让病人了解检查的相关风险。
  • 检查前三天停止服用铁丸,如病人有服用阿士匹灵、薄血丸类别的药物请事先通知医生。在某些情况下医生可能会要求病人停服某类药物。
  • 检查前三天停止服食含高纤维食物及饮品,例如菜、生果、麦皮、菇类及谷类食物等。病人可以食用淀粉质、蛋白质及脂肪类食物。
  • 检查前一天(全日)只进食流质食物,例如鱼肉粥、碎肉粥。
  • 检查前一天/或检查当天早上服用医生处方的大肠清泻剂,请按指示用泻剂。 (不建议病人自行购买服用)饮用泻剂前,病人可先准备2公升的电解质水、清洁皮肤用的湿纸巾及凡士林。
  • 检查前六小时禁止进食,但病人还可以补充适量水份。检查前两小时完全禁止饮食。
  • 检查前医生会作简短问诊及检查,讲解检查过程及风险,及签署检查同意书。
  • 除去假牙、饰物及金属物品。
  • 如果怀疑怀孕,请务必告知医生。

 

5.    检查过程是怎样进行的?

 

 

  1. 大肠内窥镜是在注射静脉镇静下或麻醉科医生监控下麻醉,确保病人在熟睡情况下进行检查,是不会感觉不适的。而监察麻醉服务由驻场麻醉科专科医生在内窥镜检查前提供麻醉专科意见,提高检查的安全性,在检查过程中持续监察重要维生指数,包括心跳、呼吸、血压、脑和肾功能,控制生命症状的稳定性。对于对安全性及舒适度有高要求的病人,建议选用监察麻醉。
  2. 医生会替病人肛门部位涂上润滑剂。随着将一支柔软,直径约为 1.5 厘米之内视镜由病人肛门放进体内进行检查。
  3. 检查过程中如发现瘜肉,医生会即时切除瘜肉,并将组织样本作化验。
  4. 检查时,医生需注入气体令肠部轻度扩张才可清楚观察肠内情况。如果在检查后感到腹部胀痛及有便意,是正常现象。本中心采用的气体为二氧化碳,人体吸收二氧化碳比起空气快150倍,因此采用二氧化碳代替空气能减少病人术后腹胀不适的现象。
  5. 检查过程需约30分钟便完成。

 

 

 

6.    检查后注意事项

 

  • 病人完成检查后会被送至复苏区,专责护士会悉心照护病人,并严谨监测病人的维生指数,直至病人复苏后,再将病人送回私人休息室。
  • 特设私人休息室,房间里除了有中央系统控制的维生指数监测仪器外、护士钟、救命钟及对讲机等医疗用途的设备外,更设有沙发、电视机及杂志等娱乐设施,休息期间,家人可陪伴在旁。让镇静剂药力消散后,便可回家。
  • 因曾注射镇静剂/麻醉药,建议由至少一位成人陪同回家。
  • 由于镇静剂和麻醉药会对你的协调和判断能力造成短暂影响,​​所以检查/手术后24小时内,应避免驾驶、喝酒、作出任何重要决定,或签署法律文件。
  • 病人在完成大肠内窥镜检查后,一般而言可以正常进食。但如果你曾接受瘜肉切除术,你便会被医护人员要求,在检查后的十天内禁食某些种类的蔬菜生果。
  • 如果你在是次检查中有接受瘜肉切除或组织抽取,你会被强烈建议在术后留港10天。若你不能承诺在术后能留港10天,请在检查前通知医护人员。

 

7.    先进的检查设备

 

内窥镜室

 

本中心的内窥镜室及内窥镜消毒房为负压地区,消毒房由奥林巴斯(Olympus)承建商提供顾问意见建造,并采用新型号的内窥镜自动清洗机。

 

 

专用仪器及技术

 

本中心的内窥镜检查中使用的仪器如活组织钳及瘜肉勒除器,均用即弃式仪器, 以慎防交叉感染。

本中心采用Olympus崭新的HQ290高清系列。当中的双重聚焦模式、高压自动冲洗功能以及超广角镜头(170° wide-angle),在输出超高画质的同时,亦让医生更容易捕捉隐藏在死角的微细瘜肉,令手术更准确、更见成效。

内窥镜备有NBI功能,这是一种利用窄波光成像的新技术,较以往高出两倍的解像度,让医生能更仔细观察血管构造以及早期黏膜的变化。

在检查期间,医生向肠内注入小量二氧化碳气体,因为二氧化碳较容易被身体吸收,吸收速度比空气快。本中心率先引入奥林匹斯新型号内窥镜专用二氧化碳导入仪器,过程中以二气化碳取代空气,大大减少手术后的腹胀,减轻不适感,并加速术后恢复。

 

严谨的水质净化系统

 

本中心一向严格控制水质,以确保用洁净的水作内窥镜仪器的最后冲洗。本中心采用三层过滤系统:第一层圆筒状过滤器能够过滤体积大于1微米的污染物包括细菌、杂质和微生物。第二层圆筒状过滤器,能过滤体积大于0.5微米的浮游粒子和杂质。自来水经过两层过滤器后,基本上已能在内窥镜检查中使用。最后一个过滤器位于水龙头,用以阻隔大过0.2微米的极细小的微生物。

为进一步保障水质,每个月会有专人更换1微米及0.5微米的过滤器。此外,每隔两天亦会更换0.2微米的过滤器。

本中心采用逆渗透技术净化自来水,能有效降低自来水内的总溶解固体 (即已溶解在水中的杂质),为目前水质净化中最干净的做法。 「RO水」(经逆渗透后的水) 是最干净的水,里面除了水份子之外没有任何矿物质或金属份子。

而用于冲洗病人肠胃的则是使用知名医疗品牌的无菌医用冲洗水。

 

8.    医疗支援

 

假若病人于本中心进行大肠内窥镜检查时出现穿肠或流血的情况,本中心将会免费为病人即时处理,以确保病人在检查过程中得到全面的支援。

本中心复苏区设有各种导气管及气管插喉仪器,包括内窥镜气管插喉设备、通风机、供氧机、心脏起搏器等。另外,团队均接受定期的复苏急救训练,一旦出现紧急情况,都能确保病人在正确的复苏程序下得到适时的医疗协助。

本中心设有24 小时紧急联络电话,若病人于离开中心后出现不适或并发症,可即时致电热线,确保您得到全面的术后支援。

 

总结

 

现存的医学数据证明大肠镜检查能有效地减低大肠癌的病发率及死亡率。市民应在没有大肠癌病征之前,定期进行检查,在癌病形成之初及早发现,并进行根治。

 

FQA

 

  1. 内窥镜检查过程需时多久?
    大肠镜一般需要约30分钟
  2. 进行内窥镜检查辛苦吗?
    传统的大肠镜检查是在病人清醒时进行的。现时进行检查前,病人可选择接受静脉镇静剂注射,注射后立刻进入睡眠状态,检验在熟睡时进行,不会感到不适。
  3. 内窥镜将于何时知道结果?
    医生可即日告知大肠检查的情况,如需要作活组织化验,可于3-4天后收到报告。

 

 

 

 

以上内容只作参考,如有问题,请致电本中心查询