Ear

 

Microscopic Examination

The microscope is one of the equipment commonly used in ear examination.  The microscopic examination is to examine the outer ear, middle ear and eardrum to detect any ear infections and any ear symptoms.

 

Ear Toilet under Microscope

Applying microscope to assist in clearing the ear canal and middle ear of any fluid, wax or other objects. It normally applies to wax impaction, otitis externa, removal of foreign substances or ear conditions.

 

Injection of Medication to the Middle Ear Cavity

It is difficult to apply medication directly into the middle ear since the middle and inner ear structures are isolated from outside by the ear drum. In case of acute deafness, injection of medication to the middle ear cavity with aid of syringe will be performed to facilitate action of medication. The microscope is being used to the whole process. The number of injection of medication is subject to the full course of treatment.

 

Eardrum Repair (Tympanoplasty)

Eardrum repair is a surgical procedure to fix a hole or tear in the eardrum to enhance hearing ability and prevent infection of middle and inner ear structures.  Tympanoplasty is conducted if the hole in the eardrum is large or presence of the hole in the ear drum exceeds 3 months or if patient who has chronic ear infection that cannot be cured with antibiotics.

 

Buttoning (Incision and Drainage of Fluid form Pinna)

Buttoning is a surgical procedure to treat haematoma auris and perichondria effusion. During the surgery, pinna is incised to allow drainage of fluid from affected area under local anesthesia and then the wound is stitched with cotton swabs or dental roll to prevent re-accumulation of fluid. Relief of swelling and pinna pain and prevention of pinna deformation can be achieved.

 

Grommet Insertion

It is usually being used to treat otitis media which is an inflammation of the middle ear that causes inflammation and a build-up of fluid behind the eardrum. The glue-like fluid is filled in the middle ear instead of air. It can affect one or both ears. It is also used to treat otitis media with effusion or nasolacrimal duct obstruction. Middle ears are closed by ear drums and accumulated fluid in the middle ear cannot pass out without assistance of device. A grommet is a device to be implanted in the middle ear to allow air to enter middle ear in order to achieve balanced pressure between the middle ear and the environment and prevent fluid build-up. Alleviation of retracted tympanic membrane and aural fullness and promotion of healing can be achieved.

 

The above information is for reference only. In case of any query. Please contact us.

耳朵

 

耳朵显微镜检查

耳朵显微镜是最常用耳部检查的用具之一。它是广泛用于检查耳朵结构,包括外耳、中耳结构、耳膜,为患者找出病因和病源所在。

 

显微镜协助清洁耳道

利用显微镜检查及协助清洁耳道及中耳内任何积水、耳垢或其他外来物。常用于耳垢栓塞、外耳炎或外物误入耳道等情况。

 

中耳药物注射

由于中耳有耳膜保护,令药物较难直接放入耳腔,因此中耳药物注射可透过利用耳朵显微镜辅助,用针筒刺穿耳膜,直接于中耳注射药物治疗急性失聪。药物注射的次数是按个别情况而定。

 

修补耳膜 (鼓室成形术)

修补耳膜是一项手术程序用来修补耳膜的破洞或撕裂,以提高听力,并减少中内耳组织受细菌入侵感染。当耳膜的破洞较大时,或穿孔逾3个月仍未自愈,或病人患有长期耳部感染而未能服用抗生素者,会使用鼓室成形术去修补

 

钮扣(切开耳廓引流积液)

钮扣手术主要用来治疗耳血肿和耳廓软骨积液。手术过程中会切开耳廓引流患处的积液,之后会用棉花纱布或棉条缝上伤口以防止积液再积聚,从而达致快速缓解耳廓肿胀和痛楚和防止耳廓变形的效果。患者需要在局部麻醉下接受手术。

 

植入耳道通气管

此手术主要用于治疗中耳炎。中耳炎是耳朵中有因感染而产生液体,黏液充斥于中耳。单边或双边耳朵或会受影响。其他适用情况包括耳积水或鼻泪管阻塞。由于外耳和中耳由耳膜分隔,导致中耳积聚的液体难以自然流出,因此医生会在耳膜上植入耳道通气管令空气可流通,保持耳膜内外压力平衡,减轻耳膜内陷和耳闷的情况,及预防液体积聚,避免感染其他部位,促进痊愈。令收缩的鼓膜得到舒缓,达致恢复听力和促进耳膜愈合。

 

以上只作参考,如有问题,请致电本中心查询。