The Specialists introduces BIS Complete 4-Channel Monitoring System (BIS), which is a non-invasive medical system.

 

To make the system work, doctor will place a sensor on the patient’s forehead to measure the activity of the brain. The EEG data obtained can measure the vital signs and the depth of consciousness of an individual patient under a certain depth of anaesthesia. Hence, it can help improve patient safety by ensuring the correct dose is delivered during the surgery or examination. The BIS scores range between 0 and 100, where 0 means the brain is ‘less active’ and 100 means ‘fully awake’. The conscious patient usually has a high BIS value. BIS values between 40 and 60 reflect adequate effect for general anaesthesia and a score between 60 and 80 after the administration of intravenous anaesthesia. Monitoring the impact of anaesthesia on the brain can improve the safety in surgical procedures, reduce potential side effects of anaesthesia.

 

The monitoring system is usually applied in the drug-induced sleep endoscopy (DISE). As long as the patient has given the adequate dose of anaesthesia, doctor will place a sensor on the patient’s forehead that connect the monitoring system. The anaesthesia, therefore, will put the patient into the deep sleep during the surgery. When the patient is unconscious, the neurological data can be obtained by the sensor placed on his/her forehead. Other parameters including sleep efficiency, Apnea Hypopnea Index (AHI), blood oxygen levels, breathing rates and patterns, eye movements, sleep stages, unusual movements or behaviours, snoring, and obstruction or narrowing of the upper airway with patients under sedation. The drug-induced sleep endoscopy (DISE) allows to investigate the exact location of the obstruction and to assess the severity of sleep apnea.

 

Apart from sleep endoscopy, the monitoring system can also be applied in the endoscopy procedures including colonoscopy, gastroscopy, sleep endoscopy, and day surgeries, such as haemorrhoidectomy, breast lump excision, circumcision, inguinal hernia repair, and other minor operations to improve patient safety during examinations and surgical procedures, and to reduce the complications of anaesthesia and postoperative complications.

香港專科引進了生命徵象及腦部麻醉深度監察儀器 (Bispectral Index) (BIS)。此是非入侵性儀器,透過放置於病人前額的專利傳導貼片,監察儀器採集大腦前額的神經活動反應,傳導貼片將腦電波頻率轉化成數據,監測不同健康狀況的病人,在不同麻醉深度下大腦意識水平及維生指數,確保病人在適當的麻醉深度中進行檢查或手術。分數從0-100分,分數愈高代表愈清醒,0分代表大腦活動不活躍,100分代表完全清醒; 40-60代表達到全身麻醉深度,~60-80代表達到鎮靜麻醉深度。同時能監測麻醉藥物對大腦的影響,提升檢查或手術安全性,減低麻醉副作用及手術後併發症。

 

此儀器較常應用於以藥物誘發的睡眠內窺鏡檢查。醫生為病人施行適量麻醉藥後,於病人前額接上傳導貼片及連接監察儀器,病人在鎮靜藥物影響下會進入深度睡眠及無意識狀態。病人在深度睡眠時,收集大腦前額的神經活動反應指數,加上多項生理檢查,包括:睡眠效率、窒息指數(AHI)、血含氧量、呼吸頻率、眼球活動、睡眠階段、異常動作,並觀察病人打鼻鼾或呼吸道阻塞或收窄的情況。以藥物誘發的睡眠內窺鏡檢查更能精準診斷呼吸阻塞位置,診斷病人睡眠窒息症的嚴重程度。

 

同時,此儀器亦可應用於內窺鏡檢查,如結腸鏡檢查、胃鏡檢查及日間手術,如痔瘡切除術、乳房腫塊切除術、包皮環切術、腹股溝疝修補術及其他中小型手術,提升檢查或手術安全性,減低麻醉副作用。