Sudden hearing loss

Sudden sensorineural hearing loss, commonly known as acute deafness is described as a medical emergency by suffering a rapid loss of hearing at once.

 

The early-stage symptoms of sudden hearing loss can be ear pressure and/or tinnitus. Most patients may suffer a muffled sound in the ear or dizzy spells, but an earache is not common case. The severity of the symptoms and inner ear inflammations may vary throughout the time course. We, therefore, suggest that anyone who experiences a sudden hearing loss should see the doctor immediately.

 

Since little is known about the exact cause of most hearing loss, people often misunderstand that the acute deafness is only due to allergies, earwax blockage or a sinus infection. There are, however, more than one identifiable causes, including infectious diseases, a traumatic injury, immune disorders, ototoxic medications that harm the sensory cells in the inner ear, hearing nerve tumor, abrupt changes in air pressure and Meniere's disease.

 

To appropriately diagnose the sudden deafness, the doctor will proceed a hearing test to ascertain the problem by taking microscopic examination. Various supplementary exams, i.e. blood tests, ear ultrasound and imaging, are proceeded accordingly to get further clarification. During the examinations, the practitioner will check the ear canal function and determine the spectrum of hearing impairment.

 

When the otologic emergency occurs, it is commonly treated with corticosteroids. It is a medical solution to reduce inflammation and decrease swelling. About 70% of patients responded positively to the steroids and gradually get recovered. In The Specialists, ENT doctor will inject the medication to the middle ear cavity with aid of syringe to facilitate the action. The microscope is applied during the whole process. The treatment lasts for two weeks with four separate injections. More than 50% of patients can restore their lost hearing.

 

The sudden hearing loss should be treated within 72 hours, and the recovery rate is about 85%. If delaying for more than two weeks, it may decrease the effectiveness of treatment and increase the chance of permanent hearing loss.

急性失聰

突發神經性聽力損失,也稱為急性失聰,是指患者突然失去聽力的緊急情況。

 

急性失聰的早期症狀可能包括耳壓及/或耳鳴。大多數患者可能會覺得聽到模糊低沉的聲音,或出現暈眩的耳鳴,但很少伴有耳痛的徵狀。隨著時間的延長,失聰的嚴重程度及耳內發炎問題會有所不同。因此,我們建議一旦出現急性失聰,應立即就醫。

 

由於對失聰的確切原因了解甚少,人們常常誤解為只是過敏,耳垢堵塞或鼻竇感染而引起的。然而,這種疾病可能伴有多種原因,包括傳染病,外部創傷,免疫紊亂,損害內耳細胞的毒性藥物,聽覺神經線腫瘤,氣壓突然發生變化,以及梅尼埃病。

 

醫生在做出正確診斷前,會對患者進行聽力測試,通過耳朵顯微鏡檢查確定問題。除此之外,還會配合各種補充檢查確定炎症,例如:驗血,耳朵造影。醫生會檢查耳道功能,並確定聽力損傷的範圍。

 

如果發生急性失聰,醫生通常採用皮質類固醇治療,可以緩解炎症和減少腫脹。約七成的患者對口服藥物反應良好逐漸恢復聽力。香港專科的耳鼻喉科醫生會採取中耳藥物注射的方式,透過耳朵顯微鏡的輔助,直接於中耳腔注射藥物。治療持續兩週,共注射四針,超過一半的病人可以恢復聽力。

 

急性聽力損失如果在72小時內接受治療,康復率約為85%。如果延遲超過兩週,可能會降低治療效果並增加永久性聽力損失的機會。