Hoarseness of voice

Hoarseness, also known as a hoarse voice, indicates the abnormal voice changes in volume and pitch, and sounds weak and raspy.

 

The symptoms of the hoarse voice include a feeling of scratchiness in the throat. It typically makes the voice sound breathy or squeaky in volume, and keeps changing in pitch.

 

Hoarse voice is basically caused by the injury to the vocal cords that are two bands of muscle inside or irritable larynx. It, mostly, may happen due to the upper respiratory infection, a cold or chronic cough. When people speak loudly, talk for too long without resting, or scream can also cause temporary hoarseness or loss of voice in some cases. Other factors, i.e. benign vocal cord nodules or polyps, gastroesophageal reflux (GERD), inhalation of respiratory tract irritants, thyroid problems, larynx trauma, larynx cancer and neurological conditions (such as Parkinson's disease and strokes) are proven sources of the abnormal voice change.

 

The above symptoms, however, are commonly discovered among the females and some certain occupational groups including singers, teachers and coaches with a higher exposure to the risk.

 

Depending on the underlying cause, the doctor will suggest either conservative treatment or providing antibiotics. Patients with hoarseness which caused by vocal overuse or misuse, for example, are recommended to have voice rest to avoid further serious injury including vocal cord hemorrhage when acute laryngitis occur. Medications for gastroesophageal reflux (GERD) or allergies are applicable to the hoarseness in some instances. Furthermore, vocal surgery may be necessary for benign nodules or polyps, larynx trauma and larynx cancer.

 

In The Specialists, our ENT doctor applies the flexible video-laryngoscope to obtain the images of larynx to provide a full picture of the health condition of larynx and vocal cord movement.  It can investigate of laryngeal diseases or symptoms such as hoarseness, vocal problem, laryngitis and laryngeal cancer.

 

We suggest that patients suffering from the hoarseness should visit a doctor when it persists for a long-term period in case of coughing up blood, swallowing difficulties, a lump in the neck or even complete loss of voice due to the delay of consultation.

喉沙

喉沙,也稱為聲沙,是指音量和音調的病態變化,聲音微弱及刺耳。

 

一般情況下,喉沙的症狀是喉嚨搔癢。患者通常會感覺呼吸急促,聲音刺耳,伴有音調起伏變化。

 

聲沙基本上是由於聲帶兩側肌肉的損傷引起的,或喉部受到刺激。大部分是因為上呼吸道感染,感冒或慢性咳嗽引起的。當人們大聲說話時,或不停頓地說話時間過長,或在某些情況下尖叫,都可能造成臨時性的喉沙或失聲。除此之外,還有其他因素可能導致喉沙,例如:良性聲帶結節或息肉,胃食管反流(GERD),呼吸道吸入刺激物,甲狀腺問題,喉部創傷,喉癌和神經系統疾病(如:帕金森病和中風)等。

 

女性和某些職業群體更容易感染喉沙,例如:歌手,教師和教練,他們患上喉沙的風險較高。

 

根據喉沙形成的原因,醫生會建議保守治療或抗生素用藥。例如,由過度使用聲帶或濫用引起的聲音嘶啞,則建議患者讓聲帶休息,以避免更嚴重的損傷,甚至產生急性喉炎導致聲帶出血。在某些情況下,醫生會給胃食管反流(GERD)或過敏的藥物。此外,良性結節或息肉,喉部創傷和喉癌可能需要聲帶手術。

 

香港專科的耳鼻喉科醫生應用彈性咽喉攝錄鏡獲取喉部影像,讓病人的咽喉狀況與聲帶活動情況一目了然,有助檢查咽喉疾病,例如聲沙、發聲問題、喉炎和喉癌。

 

我們建議如果患上喉沙並長時間未痊癒,應該及時諮詢醫生,避免因拖延最佳治療時間而導致後續出現咳血,吞嚥困難,頸部腫塊甚至完全喪失聲音。