Hepatitis C

Hepatitis C is a liver disease caused by Hepatitis C virus(HCV), which can be acute or chronic. Acute hepatitis infection is usually asymptomatic and thus some infected individuals get delayed diagnosis after several decades. Numerous sufferers have developed liver scarring and even liver cancer secondary to hepatitis infection. While the virus cannot be cleared in a majority of acute infections and infections step into chronic state. 

 

Prevalence Rate

World Health Organization estimates 2% to 3 % of global population is infected by HCV, among which approximately 400,000 persons die from liver scaring and liver cancer every year. In Hong Kong, the prevalence rate of hepatitis C is lower than 0.5% of local population while infection cases concentrate in drug abusers who inject drug.

 

Transmission

Hepatitis C is a bloodborne disease and is commonly transmitted by :

  1. Injecting drug by sharing injection needles or other injection equipment
  2. Performing invasive procedures with contaminated medical equipment or transfusion of blood with the virus in healthcare settings
  3. Needlestick injuries or exposure to sharps among healthcare professionals and workers
  4. Using unsterilized equipment to puncture skin for making tattoo

 

Hepatitis C can also be transmitted by sex or from mother to fetus during pregnancy and laboring but these transmission route rarely occur.

 

High-Risk Group

  1. Drug abusers who inject drugs
  2. Patients receiving invasive procedures
  3. People having unprotected sex
  4. AIDS patients
  5. Whose sex partners are virus carriers
  6. Whose mother are virus carriers

Symptoms

Incubation period of hepatitis C varies from two weeks to six months. Most of the

infected persons do not show symptoms while the symptoms can be fever, decrease appetite, nausea, abdominal pain, dark urine, jaundice and joint pain. The symptoms of hepatitis C infection are indistinguishable from those of hepatitis A and B infection.

 

Diagnosis

On the ground of that hepatitis infection is asymptomatic, the infection is often undiagnosed until decades after secondary symptoms caused by liver damage appear.

 

High risk groups and people suspected to be positive for hepatitis infection should receive preliminary screening for anti-HCV antibodies to identify individuals who have been infected by the virus. If the screen result is positive for anti-HCV antibodies, HCV RNA test will be provided to confirm chronic infection. After diagnosis of hepatitis infection, liver function test may be needed to assess the degree of liver fibrosis and cirrhosis while laboratory test identify the genotype of the hepatitis C virus. The result can be used to guide treatment decisions.

 

Treatment

Some sufferers may produce immune response to clear the infection and thus treatment may not be required for them. While medication is prioritized to treat chronic infection. Interferon, Pegylated Interferon and Ribavirin are the commonly used drugs in recent decades. Treatment efficacy and length of treatment course vary according to the genotype of the hepatitis C virus. Patients with liver scarring at the early stage can be treated with medication to prevent deterioration of liver damage and development of liver cancer. Medication may come along with side effects. Interferon or Pegylated Interferon can cause common cold-like symptoms, weight loss and emotional problems but side effects can disappear after cessation of medication. While Ribavirin can cause hemolytic anemia and regular blood test is required. WHO is now reviewing treatment guidelines to include DAAs for curing HCV infection since DAAs show higher treatment efficacy.

 

Precaution

Presently no vaccine is available for hepatitis C and prevention of HCV infection is important for reducing the risk of infection.

  1. Avoid sharing needlesticks or other injection equipment to inject drug while drug abstinence is strongly suggested. If presently cannot stop, disposable and sterile injection equipment should be used.
  2. Hepatitis C virus carriers should not donate blood or organs.
  3. Avoid sharing personal care items such as razors which can be contaminated and create wound easily.
  4. Having protective sex with correct use of condoms
  5. Healthcare professionals and workers should wear protective equipment properly and follow infection control guidelines strictly and safely handle needles and sharps.
  6. Regular body check by high risk groups for early diagnosis and treatment.

丙型肝炎

丙型肝炎是丙型肝炎病毒引起的肝臟疾病,可造成急性或慢性肝炎。丙型肝炎感染多數沒有症狀,導致可能幾十年才得到診斷,但有部分患者會演變成肝硬化或肝癌。此外大部分急性丙型肝炎患者由於受感染後未能完全清除病毒成為慢性帶病毒者。

 

流行率

世界衛生組織估計全球有百分之二至三的人口受到丙型肝炎的感染,其中每年有接近四十萬名患者死於由丙型肝炎引發的併發症,包括肝硬化和肝癌。而在香港,丙型肝炎的流行率低於本地人口的千分之五,其中患者多數集中於注射吸毒者群。

 

傳播

丙型肝炎病毒主要通過血液傳播:

  1. 毒品使用者以共享注射器具或其他受感染的器具的方式注射毒品。
  2. 醫療機構使用未彻底消毒的醫療器械或為病人输入受病毒感染的血液。
  3. 醫護事故(e.g. 醫護人員被受感染的針嘴或銳物刺到) 。
  4. 以未經消毒的儀器進行紋身。

丙型肝炎病毒也能通過性接觸傳播,或母親在懷孕或分娩期間傳染病毒給嬰兒,但這些傳播方式不常見。

 

高風險人士

  1. 注射毒品人士
  2. 入侵性醫療程序服務使用者
  3. 進行不安全性行為人士
  4. 愛滋病毒感染者
  5. 性伴侶為帶病毒者
  6. 母親為帶病毒者

 

症狀

丙型肝炎的潛伏期可由兩個星期至六個月不等,大部分的感染人士不會出現症狀,如果出現症狀,可能會出現發燒、食欲不振、噁心、腹痛、深色尿液、黃疸、關節疼等其他症狀。但由於症狀與其他病毒性肝炎相似,因此難以辨別。

 

診斷

由於大部分丙型肝炎患者不會出現症狀,因此直至身體出現併發症前都不會尋求診斷,這過程可能長達數十年。

 

高風險人士和懷疑受感染者應初步接受丙型肝炎病毒抗體測試。如結果呈陽性,便須進一步檢測丙型肝炎病毒核糖核酸以確定感染病毒。但確診感染丙型肝炎病毒,可能需要通過評估肝臟纖維化和硬化的程度,例如肝功能检查,並檢測病毒的基因型,作制定治療方案參考。

 

治療

部分病人可通過自身免疫力清除感染,因此這類病人並不須接受治療。如慢性丙肝病患者需要接受治療時,藥物治療是首選方案,包括使用干擾素和利巴韋林,但治癒率和療程需要視乎病毒基因型而定。早期硬化的病人可通過治療清除病毒減低肝病惡化和患上肝癌。藥物治療可能會出現副作用,例如干擾素可引發類似感冒症狀,體重減輕或情緒問題,但停藥後副作用會消失,而利巴韋林則可能導致溶血性貧血,需要定期驗血。除了干擾素和利巴韋林,世界衛生組織正在更新治療指南,加入直接抗病毒藥物作對抗丙肝方案,提高治療成效。

 

預防

現時暫未有針對丙型肝炎的疫苗,因此需要依賴預防措施降低感染風險:

  1. 避免共用針筒注射毒品,最好的辦法是戒毒,如短期無法放棄注射毒品,使用無菌一次性注射器具。
  2. 丙型肝炎帶病毒者應避免捐血或捐贈器官。
  3. 避免與其他人共用刮鬍刀等容易造成傷口的日用品
  4. 進行性行為時正確使用安全套。
  5. 醫護人員應適當使用防護設備和依循感染控制措施,小心處理銳器和針頭。
  6. 高風險人士定期接受檢查,及早診斷和治療肝病。