Medical Statistics Analysis On 13 June 2017, The Specialists has organized a Press Conference on Clinical Performance of Day Colonoscopy, focusing on releasing and analyzing the clinical performance statistics of the past 10 years (2006 – 2015).


Survey Objectives: To gauge the clinical performance of The Specialists in the past ten years (2006 – 2015) and the patients’health conditions of their lower digestive systems (mainly for adenoma & cancer detection rates)


Target: Patients who had colonoscopy examination in The Specialists Surgery and Endoscopy Centre from June,2006 to December, 2015


Number of colonoscopy reports: A total of 21,004 Colonoscopy Report
(Each colonoscopy report included The Specialists’colonoscopy examination report and the pathology report issued by a recognized pathology laboratory)


Survey Method: The Specialists and Centre for Social Policy Studies were responsible for inputting relevant information for analysis:

  • Every patient have a unique patient number. But that patient could have undergone more than one colonoscopy examination. Therefore, for the same patient number, there might be more than one set of reports completed on different dates.
  • Each patient’s colonoscopy report included The Specialists’colonoscopy examination report and pathology report issued by a recognized pathology laboratory
  • Data in a Colonoscopy Examination Report: Gender, Age, Bowel Preparation Quality, Caecal & Ileal Intubation Rate, Doctor’s Diagnosis, Number and Size of polyp(s)/cancer(s), Location of polyp(s)/cancer(s), the polypectomy status of polyp(s), photos of colonic wall, information about colonoscopy-related complications and mortality rate etc.
  • Data in a pathology report issued by a recognized pathology laboratory: pathology results of polyp(s)/cancer(s), such as differentiation and severity


Analysis Method: In this survey, the analytic instructions were provided by The Specialists, based on doctors’medical knowledge and professional judgements. Centre for Social Policy Studies, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University was responsible for data cleansing, integration and calculation. The statistics report was then sent back to The Specialists for further and were analyzed according to the professional judgment from our doctors.


Endoscopy Result of The Specialists Surgery and Endoscopy Centre (PDF)
Presentation Slides of Press Conference on Clinical Performance of Day Colonoscopy (Chinese Version Only) (PDF)
Press Release (PDF)

醫學數據分析 香港專科於 2017 年 6 月 13 日於理工大學舉行了「日間大腸鏡的臨床質素數據發布會」。是次發布會公布及分析了香港專科過去十年 (2006 - 2015 年) 的大腸鏡統計數據。


統計目的: 統計香港專科過去十年 (2006 - 2015 年) 的大腸鏡的臨床表現及曾進行大腸鏡檢查之病人的下消化道健康狀況(主要為腺瘤瘜肉及癌症發現率)。


對象: 2006 年 6 月至 2015 年 12 月期間在香港專科手術及內窺鏡中心進行過大腸鏡檢查的病人。


病歷數量: 合共 21,004 份腸鏡報告
(每一份腸鏡報告均包括香港專科的腸鏡檢查報告及認可化驗所的病理報告)


收集方法: 由香港專科及社會政策研究中心負責輸入相關資料以作分析:

  • 一位病人只會有一個病歷編號。但同一位病人可能進行過不止一次的腸鏡檢查,因此同一個病歷編號可能會有多於一份但不同日子的腸鏡報告
  • 每份腸鏡報告均包括香港專科的腸鏡檢查報告及認可化驗所的病理報告
  • 腸鏡檢查報告提供的相關資料:性別、年齡、腸道準備質素、盲腸及迴腸到達情況、醫生診斷結果、瘜肉/癌細胞數量及大小、瘜肉/癌細胞位置、瘜肉有否被切除、腸道照片、與腸鏡引起之併發症及死亡率的資料等
  • 認可化驗所的病理報告提供的相關資料:瘜肉/癌細胞組織化驗的結果,例如病理學的屬性以及程度


分析方法: 在是次統計中,分析指引主要根據香港專科醫生的醫學知識及專業判斷而成,由香港專科提供。香港理工大學社會政策研究中心負責以統計軟件將數據整合及運算結果。研究員將運算結果提交予香港專科作進一步的醫學分析及演繹。


日間大腸鏡的臨床質素數據報告(只限英文) (PDF 格式)
日間大腸鏡的臨床質素數據發布會簡報 (PDF 格式)
新聞稿 (PDF 格式)