Gastroscopy

 

1.    Why do you need to get a gastroscopy?

 

Stomach cancer as a common cancer in Hong Kong

 

Stomach cancer was the sixth commonest cancer in Hong Kong in 2015. It accounted for 3.8% of all new cancer cases. According to the statistics of Centre for Health Protection (CHP), there were 1167 new cases of stomach cancer in 2015, with 686 cases of males and 481 cases of females. The male to female ratio was about 1.4 to 1. It was, moreover, the fourth leading cause of cancer deaths in Hong Kong. In 2016, it claimed 710 deaths, accounting for 5.0% of all cancer deaths.

 

Gastroscopy

 

At present, gastroscopy is the most common detection tool of stomach cancer. Gastroscopy involves a flexible endoscope which passes through the mouth of patients to the oesophagus, stomach and duodenum to examine if there is any inflammation, stomach polyps, peptic ulcer or tumour diseases. During the procedure, patients will receive intravenous sedation so they are asleep for the procedure and feel no pain. Biopsy will be performed during examination for laboratory tests when necessary.

In The Specialists, we can provide gastroscopy, the ultra slim 5mm gastroscopy, and auto fluorescence imaging (AFI). All the above procedures include the CLO test for Helicobacter pylori.

 

 

2.    Who should have gastroscopy?

 

Citizens may have gastroscopy when experiencing:

  • Dysphagia
  • Recurrent epigastric pain
  • Gastro-Oesophageal Reflux Disease (GERD)
  • Peptic ulcers
  • Upper gastrointestinal bleeding (tarry stool)
  • Suspected upper gastrointestinal malignancy
  • Cancer screening for high-risk group

 

Special service items (Prior notification is required)

 

1.   H. pylori antibiotic resistance test

 

Our centre provides H. pylori antibiotic resistance test, which is getting a sample of gastric tissues during gastroscopy for culture and sensitivity test. The charge is $850. Patients should notify our staff if they suspect or confirm they are antibiotic-resistant when making an appointment and inform the doctor prior to the procedure. It is because for any request of this test after the gastroscopy, the patient has to experience another gastroscopy to serve for this test.

 

2.  Endoscopic variceal banding

 

Oesophageal varices are a major complication of liver cirrhosis. In severe cases, patients with oesophageal varices may experience internal bleeding. To prevent haemorrhage, patients are advised to have medications or endoscopic variceal banding during a gastroscopy.  The charge is $2800.

 

Simple steps to book our services:

 

Patients can undergo the day endoscopy in our centre. Normally just one to two working days are needed from booking to examination. A gastroscopy takes approximately 15 minutes. The average length of time that patients spent in our centre for completing the gastroscopy is two to three hours.

 

3.    How to prepare for the procedure?

 

  • Patients should stop taking antibiotics for six (6) weeks prior to gastroscopy.
  • Gastric medications are usually stopped for two (2) weeks prior to gastroscopy.
  • Patients need to be fasted for six (6) hours before the procedure.
  • Patients are not allowed to drink water and other liquids for two (2) hours prior to the procedure.
  • Prior to the procedure, there will be a brief consultation to explain the procedure and the risks involved. A consent form will then be signed by the patient.
  • Remove the denture, accessories and metallic objects.

 

4.    What happens during the colonoscopy?

 

 

  1. Doctor will spray local anaesthetics to the patient’s throat before having intravenous sedation.
  2. The examination will start when the patient is asleep to alleviate any discomfort during the procedure. In The Specialists, we have full-time in-house anaesthetists participate in providing anaesthetic opinions to patients prior to the endoscopy. During the procedure, the anaesthetist will constantly monitor the stability of vital signs including pulse, breathe, blood pressure, to preserve the vitality of important organ functions.
  3. The endoscopy will be passing through the mouth of patients to the oesophagus, stomach and duodenum.
  4. A tissue sample is taken from the stomach lining to diagnose H. pylori infection.
  5. If a suspicious area is seen on the lining of the stomach or oesophagus, the doctor will remove a biopsy for laboratory test.
  6. The procedure will be completed within 10 to 15 minutes.

 

 

 

5.    After the procedure

 

  • The patient will be taken to the recovery room for further monitoring by a team of healthcare professionals. It will take for a while to be awake after the procedure.
  • Personal resting suites are provided for patients to take a 15 minutes nap to wear off the sedation. Family members can accompany with the patient during the rest.
  • During the gastroscopy, a tissue may be removed for laboratory test. As the removal of the tissue may cause some small wounds, the patient may feel discomfort within a few days after surgery. Patients are recommended to avoid drinking coffee, milk tea, strong tea, and alcoholic drinks. And patients should take postoperative drugs prescribed by the surgeon.
  • As the patient is sedated, he/she should be accompanied by at least a friend or a family member aged above 18.
  • The sedation and the anaesthetics may temporarily affect one's co-ordination and reasoning skills, therefore, avoid driving, drinking alcohol, making any important decision or signing legal document in 24 hours after the procedure.
  • The effect of local anaesthetics will keep the throat numb for about an hour, during which swallowing is rendered difficult. These should disappear within a day. Please inform your doctor if these symptoms persist.

 

 

6.    Devices to improve the colonoscopy output

 

Endoscopy Rooms

 

Both the endoscopy rooms and cleansing room are maintained at negative pressure. The cleansing room was constructed with the advice of our contractor Olympus, with the new models of endoscope reprocessors being used.

To provide an optimal medical service, we have introduced Olympus HQ 290 endoscopic series which is already in operation. The whole system provides a more ingenious result and advanced medical efficacy compared with the previous ones. The dual focus, auto pressure water jet and the 170° wide-angle technique not just offer high definition images, but also enable doctors to easily pick up the hidden polyps. All these functions complete each other and give the best performance at the endoscopic level.

 

 

Available instruments and techniques

 

To prevent cross infection, our endoscopic apparatus such as the hot biopsy forceps and the polypectomy snares are all disposable. Furthermore, we provide the Narrow Band Imaging (NBI) technology that can offer twice the viewable distance than the previous type, projecting a more clear-cut observation for any lesion with abnormal blood vessels and mucosa.

Advanced apparatus and technologies including the ultra slim 5mm gastroscopy, auto fluorescence imaging (AFI), endoscopic submucosal dissection (ESD)and auto pressure water jet are also introduced in the centre.

 

7.    Medical support

 

 

The certified resuscitation area is equipped with all sorts of airway and intubation instruments including the endoscopic guided intubation facility, ventilator, oxygen generating machine, lifesaving medications and the cardioverter. Moreover, all our medical staff receives regular training on resuscitation to ensure patients can get the medical assistance in case of any emergency timely and properly.

If perforation or bleeding happens after the procedure, patients may receive follow up service gratis when necessary to ensure our patients get the most attentive post-operative care.

 

 

 

 

The above information is for reference only. In case of any query. Please contact us.

日間胃內窺鏡檢查

 

1.    為何要接受胃內窺鏡檢查?

 

胃癌是本港常見癌症之一

 

在2015年,胃癌在本港最常見的癌症中排第六位,佔癌症新症總數的3.8%。據衛生防護中心發布的數據,在2015年,胃癌的新症共有1167宗,男性有686宗,女性有481宗。男性與女性患者的比率約為1.4比1。且胃癌也是本港致命癌症中居第四位。2016年,胃癌導致710人死亡,佔癌症死亡總數的5.0%。

 

胃內窺鏡檢查

 

現時,胃內窺鏡檢查是最常用於檢查胃部癌症的方法。胃內窺鏡檢查是利用可屈曲的內窺鏡,從口部進入食道、胃及十二指腸進行檢查及治療,觀察在上消化道內是否有發炎、潰瘍或腫瘤之疾病,同時抽取組織樣本作化驗及診斷,亦可進行瘜肉切除術。

本中心可以提供胃內窺鏡檢查、纖幼5mm胃內窺鏡、胃內窺鏡(自體螢光成像)服務。以上檢查均包括幽門螺旋菌測試。

 

 

2.    誰需要接受胃內窺鏡檢查?

 

市民如有以下情況,應接受胃鏡檢查:

  • 吞嚥困難
  • 復發性的上腹部疼痛
  • 胃食道逆流性疾病(胃酸倒流)
  • 消化性潰瘍
  • 上消化道出血(排出黑色柏油糞便)
  • 懷疑患上消化道癌症
  • 高危人士作定期癌症普查

 

胃鏡檢查的配套服務 (如病人需要這些配套檢查必須要在檢查進行前提出)

 

1.   幽門螺旋桿菌抗藥性測試

 

本中心提供幽門螺旋桿菌抗生素抗藥性測試,即是在進行胃鏡檢查時鉗取組織作種菌及敏感度測試,收費為$850。如病人懷疑或確定對抗生素有抗藥性,請於預約時通知本中心職員,並在檢查前向醫生提出。因為如於胃鏡檢查後提出,病人需要進行多一次胃鏡檢查,以鉗取組織進行抗藥性測試。

 

2.  食道靜脈結扎術

 

食道靜脈曲張常見於肝硬化病人,嚴重的個案會導致內出血。要預防內出血發生,患者可考慮藥物治療或經胃鏡進行食道靜脈結紮術,收費為$2800。

 

預約流程:

 

中心的胃內窺鏡是以日間手術形式進行,預約本中心的胃內窺鏡檢查只需要一至兩個工作天,檢查的時間大約為15分鐘。整個過程病人只需逗留在本中心大約兩至三小時便可離開。

 

3.    檢查前準備?

 

  • 檢查前六個星期內停服抗生素
  • 檢查前兩個星期內停服胃藥
  • 檢查前六小時禁食,可以飲少量清水
  • 檢查前兩小時禁止飲用飲品/水
  • 檢查前醫生會作簡短問診及檢查,講解檢查過程及風險,及簽署檢查同意書
  • 除去假牙、飾物及金屬物品

 

4.    檢查過程

 

 

  1. 醫生會先在喉部噴上局部麻醉劑。
  2. 然後為病人進行靜脈鎮靜劑注射,待熟睡後進行檢查。另外,本中心亦可以提供監察麻醉服務,駐場麻醉科專科醫生在內窺鏡檢查前提供麻醉專科意見,提高檢查的安全性,在檢查過程中持續監察維生指數,包括心跳、呼吸、血壓、腦和腎功能,控制生命症狀的穩定性。
  3. 內窺鏡由口部經過食道,胃,進入十二指腸進行檢查,過程在熟睡情況下進行,是不會感覺不適的。
  4. 一般醫生會在胃部取少量組織做幽門螺旋桿菌測試
  5. 如有需要,醫生會從病人胃部抽取少量組織作化驗。
  6. 檢查過程需10至15分鐘便完成。

 

 

5.    檢查後休息

 

  • 檢查完成後病人會被送至復甦區,在專業的醫護團隊看護下進行復甦
  • 特設私人休息室,病人需多睡十五分鐘,讓鎮靜劑藥力消散。休息期間,家人可陪伴在旁。
  • 由於進行胃鏡檢查時,可能會進行胃部組織抽取。組織抽取後胃部會有一些細小的傷口,病人在術後數天可能會感到胃部不適。建議避免飲用咖啡、奶茶、濃茶、烈酒,及服用手術醫生處方的術後保護性藥物。
  • 因曾注射鎮靜劑/接受麻醉,必需由一名成人陪同回家。
  • 由於鎮靜劑和麻醉藥會對你的協調和判斷能力造成短暫影響,所以檢查/手術後24小時內,應避免駕駛、喝酒、作出任何重要決定,或簽署法律文件。
  • 檢查後,喉部之麻醉藥亦會引致一個多小時的吞嚥困難,但這些現象多在二十四小時內消失。如不適的感覺持續,請通知主診醫生。

 

 

6.    先進的檢查設備

 

內窺鏡室

 

本中心的內窺鏡室及內窺鏡消毒房為負壓地區,消毒房由奧林巴斯(Olympus)承建商提供顧問意見建造,並採用新型號的內窺鏡自動清洗機。

為提供更優質醫療服務,本中心已全面更新內窺鏡整套設備,並採用Olympus嶄新的HQ290高清系列。當中的雙重聚焦模式、高壓自動沖洗功能以及超廣角鏡頭,在輸出超高畫質的同時,亦讓醫生更容易捕捉隱藏在死角的微細瘜肉,令手術更準確、更見成效。

 

 

專用儀器及技術

 

本中心的內窺鏡檢查中使用的儀器如活組織鉗及瘜肉勒除器,均用即棄式儀器, 以慎防交叉感染。內窺鏡備有NBI功能,這是一種利用窄波光成像的新技術,較以往高出兩倍的解像度,讓醫生能更仔細觀察血管構造以及早期黏膜的變化。

此外,本中心的內窺鏡室亦引進了纖幼5mm胃內窺鏡、自體熒光成像 (AFI) ,與內視鏡粘膜下層剥離術 (ESD)、內窺鏡專用泵水器等先進科技。

 

7.    醫療支援

 

 

 

本中心復甦區設有各種導氣管及氣管插喉儀器,包括內窺鏡氣管插喉設備、通風機、供氧機、心臟起搏器等。另外,團隊均接受定期的復甦急救訓練,一旦出現緊急情況,都能確保病人在正確的復甦程序下得到適時的醫療協助。

本中心設有24 小時緊急聯絡電話,若病人於離開中心後出現不適或併發症,可即時致電熱線,確保您得到全面的術後支援。

 

 

 

 

以上內容只作參考,如有問題,請致電本中心查詢