EN | | PHF Provisional Licence No.:DP000101
| info@specialists.hk | 3405 8288 |

Otorhinolaryngology

1. What is otitis media? What are the treatments for otitis media?
 

Otitis media is a bacterial or viral infection of the middle ear which is one of the most common infections in childhood. It sometimes can be caused by Eustachian tube obstruction.

 

Otitis media is usually induced by spread of common cold virus or flu bacteria into the middle ear, resulting in fluid accumulation in the middle ear. The fluid buildup may increase the pressure in the ear and lead to eardrum perforation and thus leakage of fluid.

 

Common symptoms of otitis media include:

  • Ear pain
  • Hearing problems
  • Vertigo or body imbalance
  • Nausea or vomiting
  • Ear discharge

 

The first line treatment of otitis media is medication. However, if eardrum perforation occurs, the doctor may suggest myringotomy to incise a small opening on the eardrum for fluid removal and pain alleviation. The opening will heal within a few day after the surgery without damage to the eardrum. The doctor may insert a ventilating tube after myringotomy to equalize ear pressure with the environment pressure and prevent fluid accumulation. The tube will fall off from several months to one year. Please be reminded that avoid flowing of water into the ear which can cause infection.

   
2.

My kid accidental puts foreign bodies into the ear. How can I deal with the situation?

  Parents should seek help from the doctor to remove foreign objects from the ear. A microscope is used for observation of the ear canal during removal of the objects to avoid damage of ear tissues. Parents should never remove the objects by themselves since this may push the objects into inner part of the ear and cause perforation of ear drum. The doctor also uses a microscope in removal of impacted wax and fluids.
   
3.

What are the problems need to undergo tympanoplasty?

  Tympanoplasty is applied to the situation of unhealed ear perforation which may be caused by otitis media. Tympanoplasty refers to eardrum repair in order to prevent infection and recover hearing ability. It can also be used to rebuild auditory ossicles.
   
4.

What are the treatments of haematoma auris and perichondrial effusion?

  Haematoma auris and perichondrial effusion is a collection of blood or fluid  between auricular cartilage and perichondrium due to ear trauma or inflammation. Apart from repeated aspiration of the blood or fluid, patients can consider undergo buttoning surgery in which pinna will be incise for drainage of blood or fluid. The wound will then be covered by cotton swabs to prevent recollection of blood or fluid. Patients should keep the wound dry and clean after the surgery to prevent infection and promote wound healing. The cotton swabs will be removed in a week.
   
5.

What are the causes of nasal polyps? What are the examinations and the treatments for nasal polyps?

 

Nasal polyps are soft, painless, noncancerous growths on the lining of the nasal passages or sinuses. Nasal polyps may obstruct airway and cause long-term nasal congestion. Other symptoms include headache, loss of smell and sinusitis.

 

Nasal polyps appear under the condition of overstimulation and excess growth of nasal mucosa. People with allergic rhinitis, allergy to Aspirin and infection are at high risk. However, no specific causes of nasal polyps are proven.

 

CT scan and nasal endoscopy will be performed for investigation of inner structure of the nose to locate nasal polyps. If the tissue growth is suspected to be malignant, nasal biopsy may be needed to confirm carcinoma.

 

For treatments, patients may have medication such as nasal spray containing steroid. If the nasal polyps or infection are not well controlled with medication, patients may need to consider sinus surgery.

   
6.

When do you need to have nasal biopsy?

  When patients are suspected to have nasal carcinoma, a small piece of tissue will be extracted from the suspected body site for laboratory investigation on the malignancy of the tumor. The procedure is assisted by nasal endoscopy with patients under anaesthesia care.
   
7.

How is nasal bone fracture treated?

  Nasal bone fracture is generally treated by closed reduction and stabilization in which the fractured nasal bone will be repositioned and external nasal splint will be applied to support and protect the nasal bone. The fractured nasal bone will then healed with correct position.
   
8.

How does enlarged inferior turbinate cause nasal congestion? What are the treatments?

 

Turbinate is composed by bone and mucosa with the main function of warming and moisturizing incoming air. Long-term rhinitis may lead to overstimulation of mucosa and cause growth of excess tissue of turbinate. Enlarged inferior turbinate occupies nasal space and obstruct airway, resulting in long-term nasal congestion.

 

Patients will always receive medication treatment. If medication is not effective in reducing turbinate mass, surgeries such as radiofrequency inferior turbinate reduction or turbinectomy can be chosen. Radiofrequency inferior turbinate reduction uses radiofrequency to produce heat energy to reduce mass of turbinate. Turbinectomy is a surgery using an endoscopy to locate the target turbinate site for excision.

   
9.  Is that smoking causes laryngeal cancer true? What are the symptoms of laryngeal cancer?
 

True. Cigarettes contain many carcinogens such as hydrogen sulfide and sulphur dioxide cause laryngeal cancer. Many laryngeal cancer sufferers have history of smoking over 20 years. With the reason of more male smokers than female, there are more male laryngeal cancer patients at the middle or old age.

 

The most common symptom of laryngeal cancer is persistent hoarseness over 4 weeks. If the above symptom is present, ENT consultation should be made. Other symptoms involve difficulties in breathing and swallowing and pain of larynx and pharynx.

   
10. What are the examinations and treatments for laryngeal cancer?
 

Preliminary check of laryngeal cancer will be carried out by inserting a flexible fibreoptic laryngoscope through nostril and pharynx to examine the condition of larynx.  Further investigation includes biopsy of suspected site of carcinoma with aid of microlaryngoscopy. Biopsy can help investigate whether the tumor is benign or malignant. Other examinations involve CT scan and x-ray.

 

Stage 1 and 2 laryngeal cancer is mainly treated by radiotherapy and laser therapy to destroy carcinoma using limited amount of radiation and laser. The two types of therapies can retain function of throat.

 

Stage 3 and 4 laryngeal cancer needs to be treated by combination of surgery and radiotherapy in which the whole throat may be removed. Since air cannot enter lung through throat, doctor may make a stoma on the patients’ neck to allow air flowing into lung. Patients need to have speech therapy as well.

   
11.  What are the causes of cord polyps or nodules?
  Cord polyps or nodules usually grow with the cause of excessive or improper use of vocal cord such as shouting. Therefore, teachers and singers are more likely to have cord polyps or nodules. Other causes can be upper respiratory tract infection, smoking, breathing in irritant substances and abnormal functioning of thyroid glands.
   
12. What are the investigations of cord polyps and nodules?
  Doctor needs to understand the medical history of patients. Observation of vocal cord function will be done by inserting a fibreoptic nasopharyngoscope through nostril to check the function of vocal cords. Also, excision of biopsy assisted by microlaryngoscopy will be done to determine the presence of carcinoma.
   
13. Why do children always have tonsillitis? How does tonsillitis be treated?
 

Tonsillitis is the inflammation of tonsils usually due to infection. Tonsils locate at either side of the back of the throat and are part of immune system. When there is tonsillitis, tonsils will enlarge leading to difficult swallowing, throat pain, fever, headache and other signs and symptoms. Since tonsils are more active in childhood and immune system of children is weaker, children are more likely to have tonsillitis compared with adults.

 

When suffering from tonsillitis caused by virus, patients should take rest and drink more water to promote recovery. When suffering from tonsillitis caused by bacteria, it needs to be treated by antibiotics. Patients may consider tonsillectomy when have persistent or recurrent tonsillitis.

   
14. Neck pain is common among us. How can we deal with neck pain?
  Patients should seek medical consultation to find out the causes of neck pain and receive individualized treatment plan. Doctor needs to know the medical history of patients and characteristics of neck pain such as onset, pain location, duration and symptoms and any associated symptoms. Also, examinations such as neck flexibility test will be carried out. Neurological examination is needed to assess presence of nervous system dysfunction related to neck pain. Further investigation includes X-ray, CT scan, MRI scan etc.
   
15. Is investigation needed to assess lumps in the neck? Is surgery needed to treat the condition?  
  Investigation is needed to find out the causes of neck lumps since the problem can be serious. Neck lumps can be caused by lymphatitis in neck such as infection. They can even be benign or malignant tumors. Therefore, investigation is needed to assess the condition of neck pain. If the lumps are the products of infection, antibiotic treatment can be applied to reduce lumps. If the lymph node has not subsided after antibiotic, USG guided FNAC or excision is needed for diagnosis.
   
16. What is sleep apnea? What are the risk factors?
 

Sleep apnea is a sleep disorder characterized by pauses in breathing or periods of shallow breathing during sleeping. The common signs and symptoms of sleep apnea are:

 

  • Snoring
  • Nap during reading, conference and watching television
  • Pause in breathing during sleeping
  • Breath with mouth during sleeping
  • Headache in the morning
  • Fatigue, dozing off, difficulty in concentration
  • Emotional problem
  • Decreased memory
  • Sexual dysfunction

 

Classification of sleep apnea

  1. Obstructive sleep apnea
    Obstructive sleep apnea may be caused by blockage in airway by excessive subcutaneous tissues or enlarged tonsils. Common sites of obstruction are tonsillar hypertrophy, enlarged uvula and thick tongue base. 
  2. Central sleep apnea
    The airway is not blocked but the brain fails to signal the muscle for breathing to contract and relax due to instability in the respiratory control center. This problem is more common in patients with stroke or brain injury.
  3. Mixed sleep apnea
    Patients suffer from both obstructive sleep apnea and central sleep apnea.

Risk factors

  • Being over age 40
  • Being male
  • Being overweight
  • Having large tonsils, a large tongue, or a small jaw bone
  • Having a large neck size (17 inches or greater in men and 16 inches or greater in women)
  • Smoking
  • Drinking alcohol
  • Use of hypnotics
  • Gastroesophageal reflux, or GERD
  • Having a family history of sleep apnea
   
17. What are the investigations of sleep apnea?
  The common investigations of sleep apnea involve sleep study, flexible laryngoscopy & Müllers’ maneuver and sleep endoscopy.  Sleep study monitors patients’ respiratory rate, heart rate, electroencephalogram and other parameters to find out any abnormalities during sleeping. Mullers’ maneuver is a procedure needs to create a negative pressure in upper respiratory tract and insert a flexible laryngoscopy to investigate any blockage of airway. Sleep endoscopy is performed with insertion of an endoscope through the nose to assess the severity of structural obstruction or narrowing of the upper airway with patients under sedation. 
 
18. Which kind of sleep apnea can be treated by uvulopalatopharyngoplasty(UPPP)?
  The enlarged tissues will obstruct the airway. Influence on breathing and snoring will be more serious when people lie down to sleep since uvula will fall down to airway. The enlarged uvula may be due to inflammation. Therefore, doctor will suggest uvulopalatopharyngoplasty to treat obstructive sleep apnea caused by enlarged ovula. This surgical procedure is used to remove tissue and/or remodel tissue in the throat. It involves removal or remodeling of the posterior surface of the soft palate and the uvula. The uvula is then folded to the soft palate and sutured together.
     
19. How is obstructive sleep apnea treated by radiofrequency tongue base reduction?
  This is minimally invasive surgery is to treat obstructive sleep apnea caused by enlarged tongue base. The surgery uses radiofrequency to produce heat energy which heats enlarged tongue base. Protein in tongue base is destroyed and mass of tongue base reduces, resulting in improved patency of airway. This procedure is relatively safe.

EN | | 私營醫療機構暫准牌照編號:DP000101
| info@specialists.hk | 3405 8288 |

耳鼻喉科問題

1. 甚麼是中耳炎?怎樣治療中耳炎?
 

中耳炎最常由細菌和病毒感染而引致,會影響患者的中耳,主要發生在小童身上,但成人亦有機會患上。除了中耳感染,中耳炎亦可由咽鼓管阻塞而引致。
最常見的中耳感染主要是由傷風感冒的細菌進入中耳感染導致,引發膿液積聚在中耳,使耳內壓力增加,甚至鼓膜可能因壓力而破裂,使積液流出體外。

 

常見的病徵有:

  • 耳痛
  • 聽覺問題
  • 眩暈、失去平衡
  • 惡心、嘔吐
  • 耳朵排液 

 

大多數中耳炎以藥物治療,但如果鼓膜有機會破裂,醫生會建議進行鼓膜切開術,在鼓膜弄一個小孔,以便排液和紓緩耳痛,小洞在會數天內自行癒合,不會對耳鼓造成損傷。有時候,醫生會建議在鼓膜刺穿的地方置入通氣管,防止體液積聚,通氣管通常會在幾個月至一年後自動脫落,但期間需避免水流入耳內導致感染。

   
2.

小童誤把膠粒放入耳朵,應如何處理?

  父母應需尋找醫生協助取出孩子耳內異物。醫生會以顯微鏡觀察小童的耳道,小心把異物清理出來。切勿自行用耳挖等工具取出,以免將異物推入耳朵深處,穿破耳膜。醫生除了會以顯微鏡取出異物,亦會以此方法清理耳垢或積液。
   
3.

甚麼情況需要進行鼓室成形術?

  通常耳膜因中耳炎或其他疾病或意外而有破裂,便需進行鼓室成形術,修補耳膜,預防中耳感染並恢復聽力。鼓室成形術除了修補耳膜,亦會用於重建受損的聽骨鏈。
   
4.

如何治理耳血腫和耳廓軟骨積液?

  耳血腫和耳廓軟骨積液是因為耳廓受傷或發炎導致血液或體液積聚而在皮膚下形成的腫塊。 在治療耳血腫和耳廓軟骨積液時,除了可以用細針抽吸積液外,患者可考慮進行釘鈕手術,由醫生將耳廓切開以便引流積液,並用棉花紗布縫合傷口防止血或體液積聚。手術後患者需小心保持傷口乾爽清潔以防感染,大約一星期後可取下棉花紗布。
   
5.

為甚麼會有鼻瘜肉?怎樣檢查和治療鼻瘜肉?

 

鼻瘜肉是長在鼻子或鼻竇的囊狀肉粒,由於瘜肉阻塞鼻腔,容易導致患者患上長期鼻塞,甚至阻塞呼吸。有鼻瘜肉的患者除了可能有鼻塞和呼吸不順暢,同時可能有頭痛、喪失嗅覺和鼻竇炎。

鼻瘜肉的成因至今未明,但主要是因為受鼻黏膜到長刺激並過度生長而成,因此患有過敏性鼻炎、對阿斯匹靈過敏或患有其他感染症的患者會較易長鼻瘜肉。

醫生會利用鼻內窺鏡和電腦斷層(CT)掃描鼻子內部確定鼻瘜肉的存在和位置,如醫生懷疑瘜肉為惡性腫瘤,會為患者進行活組織抽取檢查,化驗組織屬良性或惡性。

患者可接受藥物治療,使用含有類固醇的鼻噴劑。如效果不理想,可考慮進行鼻竇手術。

   
6.

什麼時候需要進行鼻活組織檢查?

  當醫生懷疑患者鼻部組織有癌變,便會在鼻內窺鏡的協助下抽取可疑位置的組織進行化驗,確定良性腫瘤或而惡性腫瘤。過程中,患者需要接受麻醉。
   
7.

如何治療鼻骨骨折?

  鼻骨骨折一般須進行鼻骨骨折復位術和鼻骨固定術以矯正變形的鼻骨。過程中,醫生會將骨折部分矯正至正確位置,並以夾板或石膏固定和保護傷口,幫助骨折位置自行癒合。
   
8.

為甚麼下鼻甲肥厚會導致鼻塞? 有甚麼治療方法?

 

鼻甲由鼻甲骨和黏膜組成,主要是將吸入的空氣濕潤及暖化,如有長期鼻炎,可能會導致黏膜長期受刺激而水腫,或者下鼻甲骨腫脹肥大,阻塞呼吸道,使患者患上長期鼻塞。

醫生初期都會以藥物控制病情,若效果不顯著,醫生會安排患者接受手術減少下鼻甲體積,手術選擇包括射頻下鼻甲手術或下鼻甲切除術等。射頻下鼻甲手術是以無線射頻製造熱能縮小下鼻甲體積,下鼻甲切除術則以內窺鏡協助確定切除位置而進行。

   
9.  吸煙會導致喉癌嗎?有甚麼徵狀?
 

吸煙會增加患上喉癌的機會,因為香煙含有多種致癌物質,例如硫化氫和二氧化硫。大部份喉癌患者都有長期吸煙,而且煙齡超過二十年,由於男士相對女士吸煙的比率高,因此喉癌患者一般多為中年和老年男性。

喉癌的主要病徵是持續聲音沙啞,如聲音持續沙啞超過四個星期,須及早到耳鼻喉專科門診就診。此外,患者亦有可能出現呼吸困難、吞嚥困難和咽喉疼痛等徵狀。

   
10. 喉癌有甚麼檢查和治療方法?
 

在喉癌的前期檢查,醫生會用彈性纖維喉鏡通過鼻腔和咽部了解喉部健康狀況。進一步的檢查會以顯微喉鏡抽取懷疑是腫瘤的組織化驗確定是否惡性腫瘤。其他檢查包括電腦斷層掃描和X光等。

第一期和第二期喉癌主要以放射治療或激光治療為主,通過定量輻射或激光破壞癌細胞,在無需做手術的情況下保留喉部機能。

第三期和第四期喉癌則須要以手術或輔以放射治療徹底清除癌細胞,患者可能需要切除整個喉嚨。由於沒有喉嚨讓空氣進入肺部,因此醫生會在患者頸項開一個氣管造口,讓空氣直接由氣管造口進出肺部,患者術後亦須進行語音康復訓練。

   
11.  聲帶生瘜肉或生繭的成因是什麼?
  聲帶瘜肉和生繭通常由長期用聲過度或不當而聲帶導致,例如大吼大叫,因此歌手和老師較易有以上情況。其他成因包括上呼吸道感染、吸煙、吸入刺激性物質、甲狀腺功能異常等。
   
12. 有什麼檢查有助診斷聲帶生瘜肉或生繭?
  醫生會了解患者的病史,並用纖維鼻咽喉內窺鏡通過鼻腔進入檢查聲帶發聲功能,亦會用顯微喉鏡經患者口腔進入喉抽取活組織化驗。
   
13. 為甚麼小朋友較易有扁桃腺發炎?如何治療?
 

扁桃腺是位於喉嚨後方兩側的淋巴組織,是對抗細菌的免疫系統的成員。當喉嚨受到感染時,扁桃腺會發炎並變得腫大,導致吞嚥困難、喉嚨痛、發燒、頭痛等徵狀。由於扁桃腺在兒童時期會較為活躍,而且幼童的免疫力較差,因此幼童較易患上扁桃腺炎。

由病毒引起的扁桃腺炎,醫生會建議患者多加休息和飲水促進自行康復。由細菌引起的扁桃腺炎,則須以抗生素治療。如反覆發生扁桃腺炎或藥物治療無效,應考慮進行扁桃腺切除術。

   
14. 頸痛是都市人常見的問題,應如何處理頸痛?
  患者應求診醫生瞭解頸痛原因方便對症下藥。醫生須瞭解患者的病史,瞭解始發時間、頸痛位置、持續時間、頸痛特徵、伴隨症狀等,亦會要求患者進行不同測試,例如頸部柔軟度,以助瞭解發病原因。神經系統檢查液是必須的,以確定是否有神經症狀。進一步檢查包括X光、電腦斷層掃描、MRI掃描等。
   
15. 脖子有腫塊需要檢查嗎?要不要進行手術?  
  脖子有腫塊應進行檢查,因為問題可大可小,亦須經過檢查才能了解原因。作出相應治療。脖子腫脹可能是由細菌感染而致的淋巴發炎導致,亦有可能是良性腫瘤或惡性腫瘤,因此需要進行檢查確定腫脹性質。如腫脹原因是細菌感染作抗生素治療已可。如淋巴腫塊持續,便需要進行超聲波輔助細針抽吸細胞和切除組織作檢查診斷之用。
   
16. 什麼是睡眠窒息症?有哪些高危因素?
 

睡眠窒息症是一種睡眠失調症,患者會在睡眠時斷續多次停止呼吸,影響患者睡眠質素。睡眠窒息症的患者多數會出現以下徵狀:

  • 打鼻鼾
  • 看書、開會或看電視時容易打瞌睡
  • 睡覺時間歇性呼吸停止
  • 睡覺時用口呼吸
  • 早上頭痛
  • 日間感到疲倦、難以集中精神
  • 脾氣暴躁
  • 記憶力衰退
  • 性機能減退

睡眠窒息症主要分為三大類,分別為:

  1. 阻塞性睡眠窒息症
    阻塞性睡眠窒息症由呼吸道受阻而致,阻塞的原因可能是因為上呼吸道有過多的脂肪組織, 扁桃腺過大、懸垂體變大和肥大舌頭底部。
  2. 中樞性睡眠窒息症
    中樞性睡眠窒息症是由於大腦發發送呼吸信號到呼吸器官失敗, 例如腦部曾經中風或受到創傷。
  3. 混合性睡眠窒息症
    混合性睡眠窒息症為患者同時患有阻塞性睡眠窒息症和中樞性睡眠窒息症。

睡眠窒息症的高危因素包括:

  • 40歲或以上
  • 男性
  • 肥胖
  • 扁桃腺發大、舌頭肥大、下顎較小
  • 頸部粗大(男士頭圍超過17吋, 女士頭圍超過16吋)
  • 飲酒
  • 吸煙
  • 使用安眠藥
  • 患有胃酸倒流
  • 家族病史
   
17. 哪些檢查可診斷睡眠窒息症?
  最常見的檢查有睡眠測試、彈性鼻咽鏡檢查及倒氣測試和睡眠內窺鏡檢查。睡眠測試是監測患者睡覺時的呼吸、心跳、腦電波等是否有異常。倒氣測試需在在病人的上呼吸道製造一個負氣壓的狀態,並以彈性鼻咽鏡檢查檢視上呼吸道是否有阻塞。睡眠內窺鏡檢查是在患者在睡眠的狀態下進行,內窺鏡會由鼻孔伸入整個呼吸道,觀察呼吸道阻塞或收窄的情況。
   
18. 懸雍垂顎咽成形術可治療甚麼原因導致的睡眠窒息症?治療過程?
  當懸雍垂發炎時,便會變得腫脹肥大,阻塞呼吸道, 特別平躺睡覺時,懸雍垂會向後堆疊,阻塞會更嚴重,導致呼吸不順暢和打鼾。因此,醫生會建議懸雍垂顎咽成形術治療由懸雍垂過大導致的阻塞性睡眠窒息症,並改善打鼾情況。治療時會經口腔移除或重組懸雍垂及過多的軟顎組織,之後加以縫合,以擴大口咽部的呼吸道,使病人在睡眠時的呼吸回復正常,改善睡眠質素。
     
19. 射頻消融術(舌頭底部)如何治療阻塞性睡眠窒息症?
  用來治療由舌根過度肥大而壓到喉部導致的阻塞性睡眠窒息症。過程中以無線射頻製造熱能,灼燒過厚的舌根,破壞舌根的蛋白質,使舌根體積萎縮,從而擴大呼吸道。此手術安全性高。